H.R. No. 186

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Linda Broussard Mabrie of Houston has devoted her
2 life to educational excellence, first as a student and teacher, and
3 now as principal of Our Mother of Mercy School; and

WHEREAS, A dedicated professional and devoted mother of three sons, Ms. Mabrie attended Our Mother of Mercy School as a child with her brother and five sisters; her career in education includes service as a special education teacher and more than 20 years as an elementary school counselor; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Mabrie holds a bachelor's degree in special 9 education from the University of Houston and a master's degree in 10 11 quidance and counseling from Texas Southern University; in 12 addition, she is а licensed professional counselor in 13 the State of Texas and has received her 14 Educational/Administration/Mid-Management Certification; and

WHEREAS, The recipient of many awards and accolades, this remarkable woman has contributed to the success of numerous organizations, including the Houston Association of Counseling and Development, the Texas Association for the Gifted and Talented, and the University of Houston Black Alumni Association; and

20 WHEREAS, In her role as principal of her alma mater, Ms. 21 Mabrie is committed to instilling strong religious principles in 22 her young charges and enabling them to reach their fullest 23 potential, and it is indeed a pleasure to commend her for her 24 efforts in this endeavor; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 186

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby recognize Linda Broussard 3 Mabrie for her outstanding career as an educator and extend to her 4 best wishes for continued success as principal of Our Mother of 5 Mercy School; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Ms. Mabrie as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Dutton

H.R. No. 186

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 186 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House