H.R. No. 189

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Grisham Middle School (GMS) Band of the Round
Rock Independent School District has earned international
recognition with its receipt of the prestigious Sudler Silver Cup

4 award; and

WHEREAS, Awarded by the John Philip Sousa Foundation, the Sudler Cup was established 19 years ago to recognize junior high school and middle school concert band programs throughout the United States and Canada that have demonstrated exemplary standards of excellence over a period of at least seven years under the same conductor; and

WHEREAS, Band director Betty Pierce has built a widely popular band that truly exemplifies the John Philip Sousa Foundation mission; the band has ranked in the top five Texas middle school bands for the past four years and recently received perfect scores in University Interscholastic League concert and sight-reading competitions; in addition, the GMS Honor Band was selected to perform at the Midwest Clinic International Band and Orchestra Conference in Chicago, an invitation extended to only three middle school bands; and

WHEREAS, Only an elite few may claim the distinction of having received a Sudler Silver Cup award, and by achieving this truly remarkable feat, the Grisham Middle School Band has become a source of tremendous pride to its community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

H.R. No. 189

- 1 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the Grisham
- 2 Middle School Band program and director Betty Pierce for receiving
- 3 the Sudler Silver Cup award from the John Philip Sousa Foundation
- 4 and extend to all those associated with the band sincere best wishes
- 5 for the future; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the Grisham Middle School Band as an expression of high
- 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Stick

H.R. No. 189

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 189 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House