RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The family and friends of Chief Warrant Officer 3
Wesley Charles "Chuck" Fortenberry of Troy suffered an immeasurable
loss with the death of this valiant man in Iraq on April 11, 2004, at
the age of 38; and
WHEREAS, Based at Fort Hood with the U.S. Army, Chief

WHEREAS, Based at Fort Hood with the U.S. Army, Chief Fortenberry was assigned to Company C, 1st Battalion, 227th Aviation Regiment, 1st Cavalry Division, and had been in Iraq for about two months; on April 11 he was flying an Apache attack helicopter on a reconnaissance mission with another pilot when a fuel convoy was halted by an improvised explosive device just west of the Baghdad International Airport; once the convoy was immobilized, it was attacked by insurgents; and

WHEREAS, With their ammunition running low, the convoy called for assistance; Chief Fortenberry and his fellow officer immediately turned around to engage the insurgents, and the pilots' swift response is credited with saving the lives of the soldiers in the convoy; during the firefight, a surface-to-air missile downed Chief Fortenberry's aircraft; and

WHEREAS, The son of a military family, this courageous Texan was born in Woodville on April 15, 1965, and graduated from Kirby High School in 1983; he attended Stephen F. Austin State University for a year before enlisting in the army in June 1984; over the course of his career, he served in the 82nd Airborne and became a Ranger, in addition to qualifying to fly helicopters; and

WHEREAS, Held in deep affection by his comrades, Chief Fortenberry was also greatly admired for the many long hours he devoted to his work, for his warm-hearted, generous nature, and for the respect he accorded all he worked with, regardless of rank; and WHEREAS, Among the many military honors he received were the Bronze Star, Purple Heart, Meritorious Service Medal, Commendation Medal with three oak leaf clusters, Achievement Medal with three oak leaf clusters; and

9 WHEREAS, Chief Fortenberry was the devoted husband of Cynthia 10 and the proud father of three sons, Benjamin, Alexander, and 11 Nicholas; and

WHEREAS, Through his unfaltering devotion to duty, honor, and his country, Chief Fortenberry embodied the highest ideals of the armed services, and the blessing of his life will be forever cherished by those who were privileged to share in his love and friendship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby pay special tribute to Chief Warrant Officer 3 Wesley Charles "Chuck" Fortenberry and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife, Cynthia; to his sons, Benjamin, Alexander, and Nicholas; to his parents, Kenneth Charles and Patricia Fortenberry; to his brothers, Shawn and Aaron Fortenberry; and to all his other relatives and many friends; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Chief

1 Warrant Officer 3 Wesley Charles "Chuck" Fortenberry.

McReynolds

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 210 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 11, 2004.

Chief Clerk of the House