RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Words cannot express the heartache felt at the loss 2 of Specialist Robert Ray Arsiaga of Midland, who died in Iraq on
- 3 April 4, 2004, at the age of 25; and
- WHEREAS, Assigned to the U.S. Army's 2nd Battalion, 5th
- 5 Cavalry Regiment, 1st Cavalry Division, Specialist Arsiaga was
- 6 deployed to Iraq from Fort Hood on March 11, 2004; he died with six
- 7 fellow soldiers from the 1st Cavalry less than a month later, when
- 8 their convoy was attacked in the Baghdad neighborhood of Sadr City;
- 9 and
- 10 WHEREAS, Robert Arsiaga was born in Midland on October 12,
- 11 1978, and grew up in a loving and close-knit family; he attended
- 12 elementary school and junior high in Greenwood and graduated from
- 13 Greenwood High School in 1998; interested in architecture and
- 14 wishing to design a new home for his mother, he moved to Phoenix,
- 15 Arizona, to study drafting; and
- 16 WHEREAS, He subsequently entered the army and began basic
- 17 training in March 1999; after completing his first term of service,
- 18 which included time spent in Korea, he reenlisted for two
- 19 additional years; and
- 20 WHEREAS, Specialist Arsiaga marked a very special milestone
- in his life on October 6, 2003, when he and his wife, Tracie Ann,
- 22 were married; although he was scheduled to leave the army in August
- 23 2004, his term was extended to 2005 with his posting to Iraq; and
- 24 WHEREAS, This courageous Texan performed his dangerous

- 1 mission with dedication and professionalism; his steadfast
- 2 commitment to discharging his responsibilities to the best of his
- 3 abilities was coupled with a strongly felt desire to help the Iraqi
- 4 people; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Specialist Arsiaga's valiant efforts and
- 6 immeasurable sacrifice are deserving of honor by every American,
- 7 and he will be forever cherished by the wide circle of family and
- 8 friends in whose love he shared; now, therefore, be it
- 9 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 10 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby pay special tribute to the
- 11 life of Specialist Robert Ray Arsiaga and extend deepest sympathy
- 12 to the members of his family: to his wife, Tracie Ann Arsiaga; to
- 13 his mother, Sylvia Munoz Macias; to his brothers, George, Matthew,
- 14 Gilbert, and Jeremy Arsiaga; to his sisters, Michelle Mancha, Robi
- 15 Galindo, and Angel Munoz; and to all who mourn the passing of this
- 16 beloved young man; and, be it further
- 17 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 18 prepared for his family, and that when the Texas House of
- 19 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of U.S. Army
- 20 Specialist Robert Ray Arsiaga.

Craddick

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Hilderbran Pitts Casteel Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Riddle Coleman Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis

Zedler

Menendez

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 233 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 11, 2004.

Chief Clerk of the House