By: Hamric H.R. No. 235

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans, and indeed all Americans, are deeply
2 indebted to this country's military personnel, who through the
3 years have brought to their endeavors an exceptional degree of
4 courage, idealism, and professionalism, and we recognize that these
5 admirable men and women too often face the ultimate sacrifice in the
6 course of carrying out their arduous missions; and

WHEREAS, The United States Department of Defense has reported, as of April 15, 2004, the names of 77 men and women from Texas who have died in Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom; these individuals are being mourned by families, friends, and communities across the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Those lost in Operation Enduring Freedom are Sergeant First Class Nathan Chapman; Staff Sergeant Brian Craig; Specialist Rodrigo Gonzalez-Garza; Sergeant First Class John Taylor; Technical Sergeant John Chapman; Airman First Class Raymond Losano; and Staff Sergeant John Teal; and

WHEREAS, Texans lost in Operation Iraqi Freedom are Corporal Daniel Amaya; Specialist Edward Anguiano; Chief Warrant Officer Andrew Todd Arnold; Specialist Richard Arriaga; Specialist Robert Arsiaga; Private First Class Chad Bales; Sergeant Michael Paul Barrera; Chief Warrant Officer Michael Blaise; Captain Ernesto Blanco; Chief Warrant Officer Clarence Boone; Specialist Adolf Carballo; Lance Corporal James Casper; Staff Sergeant Roland Castro; Staff Sergeant Gary Collins; Specialist Zeferino Colunga;

H.R. No. 235

Private Rey Cuervo; Captain Eric Das; Staff Sergeant Joe Dunigan; 1 Sergeant William Eckhart; Private Ruben Estrella-Soto; Master 2 Sergeant George Fernandez; Private Robert Frantz; Specialist 3 4 Israel Garza; First Sergeant Joe Garza; Lance Corporal Shane 5 Goldman; Private First Class Analaura Esparza Gutierrez; Private 6 First Class Clayton Henson; Master Sergeant Kelly Hornbeck; First Lieutenant Doyle Hufstedler; Private First Class Ray Hutchinson; 7 8 Chief Warrant Officer Scott Jamar; Specialist John Johnson; Staff 9 Sergeant Phillip Jordan; Specialist Michael Karr, Jr.; Corporal Brian Matthew Kennedy; Specialist James Kiehl; Specialist Scott 10 Larson; Private First Class Jason Ludlam; Corporal Matthew Matula; 11 Corporal Jesus Martin Antonio Medellin; Sergeant Daniel Methvin; 12 Private First Class Anthony Miller; Private First Class Stuart 13 14 Moore; Sergeant Gerardo Moreno; Private First Class Ricky Morris, 15 Jr.; Sergeant Keelan Moss; Specialist Joseph Norquist; Captain Eric Paliwoda; Private First Class James Parker; Staff Sergeant Hector 16 17 Perez; Specialist Jose Perez III; Specialist Larry Polley, Jr.; Sergeant Christopher Ramirez; Sergeant Ariel Rico; Second 18 Lieutenant Jonathan Rozier; Sergeant John Russell; Private First 19 Class Leroy Sandoval, Jr.; Specialist Christian Schulz; Private 20 21 First Class Dustin Sekula; Corporal Tomas Sotelo, Jr.; Specialist Joseph Suell; Lance Corporal Elias Torrez III; Lance Corporal Ruben 22 Valdez, Jr.; Sergeant Melissa Valles; Lance Corporal Michael 23 24 Wafford; Lieutenant Nathan D. White; Specialist James Wright; 25 Private First Class Jason Wright; Private First Class Stephen 26 Wyatt; and Sergeant Henry Ybarra III; and

27

WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and

H.R. No. 235

women whose love of country leads them to military service, yet the 1 2 deaths of these brave Texans are a sobering reminder that war is not 3 without great and terrible cost; it is fitting that we acknowledge 4 the immeasurable sacrifice rendered by these, our fellow citizens,

5 and that we honor, preserve, and perpetuate their memory; now,

6 therefore, be it

7

8

9

10

11

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby pay special tribute to the Texans who have given their lives in Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom and that deepest sympathy be extended to those who will forever carry them in their hearts.