H.R. No. 243

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to 2 recognize the boys' soccer team of Lopez High School in 3 Brownsville, which recently won the Class 4A state championship 4 title; and

5 WHEREAS, The Lopez Lobos traveled to Corpus Christi on 6 Saturday, April 17, 2004, to capture the Class 4A state soccer 7 championship title against the Brenham Cubs; and

8 WHEREAS, The Lopez Lobos played before a standing-room-only 9 crowd where 1,800 fans gathered to view and cheer the team to 10 victory; and

11 WHEREAS, The Lopez Lobos finished the season with a 25-4-1 12 record and brought the Rio Grande Valley its first UIL state soccer 13 title; and

14 WHEREAS, The Lopez Lobos, a team from Brownsville, Texas, has made the city and fans proud by succeeding to capture the victory, 15 16 and team members Emmanuel Jaramillo, Alberto Garcia, Edgar Garcia, Armando Lopez, Enrique Velez, Jose Carlos Guevara, Jose Lopez, Ivan 17 18 Morales, Roberto Galvan, Jose Ramos, Jr., Enrique Rivera, Marco Ramirez, Omar Pineda, Alejandro Longoria, Luis Salazar, Victor 19 Cavazos, Jose Ramos, Victor Maldonado, Roberto Guerra, Andres 20 21 Cabrera, Omar Esparza, and Rodolfo Noriega should be commended for their outstanding achievement; and 22

WHEREAS, Under the leadership of head coach Amadeo Escandon,
with the assistance of Ian Fero and Dolores Rodriguez, and with the

1

H.R. No. 243
1 support of athletic coordinator Valentin Montemayor and athletic
2 director Joe A. Rodriguez, the Lopez Lobos have exhibited superior
3 teamwork and discipline; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Lopez Lobos from Lopez High School be
extended deep appreciation and congratulations for their
tremendous victory in capturing the title of the State Class 4A
Soccer Champions; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for the 9 team as an expression of esteem from the Texas House of 10 Representatives.

Oliveira

2

H.R. No. 243

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 243 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House