RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texans, and indeed all Americans, are deeply
2 indebted to this country's military personnel, who through the
3 years have brought to their endeavors an exceptional degree of
4 courage, idealism, and professionalism, and we recognize that these
5 admirable men and women too often face the ultimate sacrifice in the
6 course of carrying out their arduous missions; and

WHEREAS, The United States Department of Defense has reported, as of May 8, 2004, the names of 85 men and women from Texas who have died in Operation Enduring Freedom and Operation Iraqi Freedom; these individuals are being mourned by families, friends, and communities across the State of Texas; and

WHEREAS, Those lost in Operation Enduring Freedom are Sergeant First Class Nathan Chapman; Staff Sergeant Brian Craig; Specialist Rodrigo Gonzalez-Garza; Sergeant First Class John Taylor; Technical Sergeant John Chapman; Airman First Class Raymond Losano; and Staff Sergeant John Teal; and

WHEREAS, Texans lost in Operation Iraqi Freedom are Corporal Daniel Amaya; Specialist Edward Anguiano; Chief Warrant Officer Andrew Todd Arnold; Specialist Richard Arriaga; Specialist Robert Arsiaga; Lance Corporal Aaron Austin; Private First Class Chad Bales; Sergeant Michael Paul Barrera; Chief Warrant Officer Michael Blaise; Captain Ernesto Blanco; Chief Warrant Officer Clarence Boone; Specialist Phillip Brown; Specialist Adolf Carballo; Lance Corporal James Casper; Staff Sergeant Roland Castro; Staff Sergeant

Gary Collins; Specialist Zeferino Colunga; Private Rey Cuervo; 1 Captain Eric Das; Private First Class Ervin Dervishi; Staff 2 Sergeant Joe Dunigan; Sergeant William Eckhart; Private Ruben 3 4 Estrella-Soto; Master Sergeant George Fernandez; Chief Warrant 5 Officer Wesley Fortenberry; Private Robert Frantz; Specialist Israel Garza; First Sergeant Joe Garza; Lance Corporal Shane 6 Goldman; Corporal Jeffrey Green; Private First Class Analaura 7 8 Esparza Gutierrez; Private First Class Clayton Henson; Master 9 Sergeant Kelly Hornbeck; First Lieutenant Doyle Hufstedler; Private First Class Ray Hutchinson; Chief Warrant Officer Scott 10 Jamar; Specialist John Johnson; Staff Sergeant Phillip Jordan; 11 Specialist Michael Karr, Jr.; Corporal Brian Matthew Kennedy; 12 Specialist James Kiehl; Specialist Scott Larson; Private First 13 Class Jason Ludlam; Chief Warrant Officer Johnny Mata; Corporal 14 15 Matthew Matula; Corporal Jesus Martin Antonio Medellin; Sergeant Daniel Methvin; Private First Class Anthony Miller; Private First 16 17 Class Stuart Moore; Sergeant Gerardo Moreno; Private First Class Ricky Morris, Jr.; Sergeant Keelan Moss; Specialist Joseph 18 Norquist; Captain Eric Paliwoda; Private First Class James Parker; 19 Staff Sergeant Hector Perez; Specialist Jose Amancio Perez III; 20 21 Specialist Larry Polley, Jr.; Sergeant Christopher Ramirez; Sergeant Ariel Rico; Second Lieutenant Jonathan Rozier; Specialist 22 23 Isela Rubalcava; Sergeant John Russell; Private First Class Leroy 24 Sandoval, Jr.; Specialist Christian Schulz; Private First Class 25 Dustin Sekula; Private First Class Armando Soriano; Corporal Tomas 26 Sotelo, Jr.; Specialist Joseph Suell; Lance Corporal Elias Torrez 27 III; Lance Corporal Ruben Valdez, Jr.; Sergeant Melissa Valles;

- 1 Lance Corporal Michael Wafford; Lieutenant Nathan D. White;
- 2 Specialist James Wright; Private First Class Jason Wright; Private
- 3 First Class Stephen Wyatt; and Sergeant Henry Ybarra III; and
- WHEREAS, Our state and nation are fortunate to have men and
- 5 women whose love of country leads them to military service, yet the
- 6 deaths of these brave Texans are a sobering reminder that war is not
- 7 without great and terrible cost; it is fitting that we acknowledge
- 8 the immeasurable sacrifice rendered by these, our fellow citizens,
- 9 and that we honor, preserve, and perpetuate their memory; now,
- 10 therefore, be it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 12 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby pay special tribute to the
- 13 Texans who have given their lives in Operation Enduring Freedom and
- 14 Operation Iraqi Freedom and that deepest sympathy be extended to
- 15 those who will forever carry them in their hearts.

Hamric Alonzo Escobar

Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Griggs Baxter Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Guillen Bohac Mowery Naishtat Bonnen Gutierrez Haggerty Branch Nixon Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamilton Noriega Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Callegari Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Heflin Canales Phillips Hegar Pickett Capelo Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Quintanilla Hochberg Chavez Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Riddle Норе Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Smith of Tarrant Hupp Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Solomons Keel Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Keffer of Eastland Driver Talton Dukes King Taylor Kolkhorst Dunnam Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Laney Eiland Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal West Escobar Mabry Wilson Farabee Madden Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores McCall Wolens Flynn McClendon Gallego Wong Woolley Garza McReynolds Gattis Menendez Zedler

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 248 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 11, 2004.

Chief Clerk of the House