By: Pickett H.R. No. 251

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has announced the 2 names of 26 students from Texas who have been named to the Coca-Cola 3 Scholars Class of 2004; and

WHEREAS, Nearly 80,000 young men and women from across the country applied for this prestigious honor, and a total of 252 finalists were selected; winners were chosen on the basis of academic excellence and leadership in their communities; and

8 WHEREAS, Members of the 2004 class traveled to Atlanta,
9 Georgia, in April to attend a banquet in their honor, tour the city,
10 and attend a variety of enrichment programs; and

WHEREAS, Those students from Texas who have been awarded a \$20,000 Coca-Cola scholarship are: Ana Huang, Houston, Memorial Senior High School; Catherine Lynn Trevino, Weslaco, Weslaco High School; Elizabeth Victoria Pratt, Fort Worth, Fort Worth Country Day School; Kenneth E Ike, Houston, Alief Hasting Senior High School; Kevin Neilesh Kalra, Houston, Langham Creek High School; and Simon Nabil Haidamous, Cypress, Cy-Fair Senior High School; and WHEREAS, Texas students receiving a \$4,000 Coca-Cola scholarship are: Abby Lynn Dudensing, Sagerton, Rule High School; Benjamin C. Fong, Houston, Bellaire Senior High School; Brittany Nicole Anderson, Waco, A.J. Moore Academy; Darci Michelle Owens, Big Lake, Reagan County High School; Dex Daniel Dean, Rockdale, Rockdale High School; Drew Matteson, Amarillo, Randall High School; Elizabeth Ann Zapata, Edinburg, Edinburg High School; Eloy Ivan

H.R. No. 251

Balderas, Linn, Edinburg North High School; Jonathan Aaron Jones, 1 2 Diboll, Diboll High School; Katelyn Zeanne Brown, Georgetown, Georgetown High School; Lindsay Michelle Cain, 3 4 Winnsboro High School; Morgan Ashley Montello, El Campo, El Campo 5 High School; Pamela Annette Melton, Gatesville, Gatesville High 6 School; Rachel Beth Lane, Whitney, Whitney High School; Ryan Edward 7 Maney, Tulia, Tulia High School; Shannan D'Aun Sowder, Shallowater, 8 Shallowater High School; Stephen Sullivan Gilstrap, Marshall, 9 Marshall Senior High School; Tara Rischelle Price, Midland, 10 Greenwood High School; Taylor Thomas Johnson, Brenham, Brenham High School; and Travers Jon Johnson, Quitman, Quitman High School; and 11 WHEREAS, Through dedication to academic achievement and 12 commitment to the betterment of their communities, these young men 13 14 and women have brought great credit to themselves, their families, 15 and their schools and compiled a record of accomplishment that signals a bright and fulfilling future; now, therefore, be it 16 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate the Texas 18 members of the Coca-Cola Scholars Class of 2004 and extend to them 19 sincere best wishes for success in all their future endeavors. 20