H.R. No. 256

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Pastor Janice E. Hill and the congregation of First 2 Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) of Marshall are marking the 3 sesquicentennial of the church's founding on October 9-10, 2004; 4 and

5 WHEREAS, In 1854, K. M. VanZandt, the son of the first Texas 6 ambassador to the United States, helped establish the church with a core group of seven individuals; the congregation disbanded during 7 the Civil War, when its building was used as a barracks and 8 warehouse, and its 1887 reorganization by Chalmers McPhearson was 9 followed the next year with formal meetings held at a chapel 10 11 purchased by the church, which was at that time led by T. B. Elwood, 12 its first lay preacher and song leader; and

WHEREAS, The church home was established at Rusk and Railroad Avenue in 1895, where it remained through remodeling and rebuilding efforts until 1983, when the congregation moved to its current facility at 1101 Indian Springs Road; and

WHEREAS, The First Christian Church is a member of Marshall'sUnited Churches Care as well as the Marshall Food Bank; and

WHEREAS, For 150 years, the First Christian Church family has offered a spiritual haven and practical assistance to East Texans, and its members, past and present, have generously shared their time and resources to ensure the church's continuation as a house of worship; now, therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

1

H.R. No. 256

Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby congratulate Pastor Janice
E. Hill and the congregation of First Christian Church (Disciples
of Christ) in Marshall on the church's sesquicentennial and extend
to all those involved best wishes for a meaningful and memorable
observance; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the church as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Hughes

H.R. No. 256

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 256 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House