H.R. No. 300

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Reeves County sheriff's deputy Frank "Frankie"
Campos demonstrated quick thinking and keen judgment on April 4,
2004, saving untold lives with his decisive actions; and

WHEREAS, In the aftermath of severe flooding in Toyah, Deputy Campos alertly stopped traffic on Interstate 20 and immediately contacted his dispatcher after recognizing the imminent collapse of the bridge at Salt Draw; and

8 WHEREAS, Less than an hour after these preventive measures 9 were taken, the eastbound lanes of the interstate highway collapsed 10 into the draw; no one was injured, thanks to the commendable efforts 11 of Deputy Campos; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of Pecos High School and the Odessa College Law Enforcement Academy, this dedicated officer has been a full-time deputy since January 2004; he is a source of pride to his family, friends, and fellow officers, and it is a pleasure to join in honoring him for the pivotal role he played in averting a potential tragedy; now, therefore, be it

18 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 19 Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend Deputy Frank 20 "Frankie" Campos for his lifesaving efforts on April 4, 2004, and 21 extend sincere appreciation to him for his continued service in 22 support of the citizens of Texas; and, be it further

23 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 24 prepared for Deputy Campos as an expression of high regard by the

1

H.R. No. 300

1 Texas House of Representatives.

Gallego

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 300

H.R. No. 300

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 300 was adopted by the House on May 17, 2004, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House