SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 11

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the girls soccer team of Creekview High School in Carrollton, which recently won the Class 5A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, Making their first appearance at the state tournament, the Lady Mustangs defeated San Antonio's Ronald Reagan High School in a 1-0 shootout victory on April 10, 2004; Creekview outscored Reagan 3-1 in the shootout after hard-fought but scoreless regulation and double overtime play; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 27-1 record; team members Kat Graham, Tina Rincon, Brittany Cannon, Dani Slavonic, Kari Swallow, Kendall Juett, Gentry Sharp, Kristina Corona, Natalie Schmear, Michelle Escobedo, Hilary Samuels, Jessica Davis, Kristen Hild, Heather Martinez, Kat Wilkes, Chelsea McCleskey, Emmie Bennett, Natalie Farley, Jessie Thomas, Christina Colby, and Kylie Wellman can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Jimmy Elder, assistant coach Carrie Slechta, and trainer Rob Sundquist and with the support of student assistant Chase Hatcher and student trainers Edward Kim and Neil Prendergast, the Lady Mustangs have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Creekview High School and the City of Carrollton are proud of the Lady Mustangs for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the Creekview High School Lady Mustangs for their successful season and congratulate them on winning the girls Class 5A state soccer championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate