SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 18

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Northwest High School Texans junior varsity hockey team, which recently won the Development League championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Northwest Texans defeated the Richardson Wild by a score of 2-1 in an overtime victory; the championship title is truly an achievement for this new team, which had started the season without a goalie and with seven team members who had never played hockey before; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending their first season with a perfect 16-0-0 record; team members Kyle Barfield, Matt Becker, Myles Becker, Greg Copeland, Marcos Gallegos, Brad Harfield, Brian Hudgens, Harlan Holt, Charlie Livens, Chris Parker, Greg Peeples, Mark Peeples, Rob Sanders, Rob Shanks, Jared Smith, and Ryan Stokes can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Doug Peeples and assistant coaches David McDole and Chris Jungst, the Texans have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Northwest High School and citizens throughout the area are proud of the Texans for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the members of the Northwest High School junior varsity hockey team for their successful season and congratulate them on winning the Development League championship in their first year of play; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 27, 2004.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate