SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 136

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Normangee High School Panthers, who recently won the Class A Division 1 boys state basketball championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Normangee Panthers were victorious in their first appearance at the state championship playoffs, defeating the Morton Indians 53-51 in an overtime victory before a crowd of 7,179 in Austin; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding athletes have demonstrated awesome talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 36-2 record; team players Mikel Bates, Brent Childress, Brett Davis, Daniel Ellison, Dexter Green, Rashod Hollis, Joseph Jones, Jacob King, Desmond Mays, Payton Newsom, Ben Turner, and Drew Whitesell deserve to be proud of their efforts and outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of Athletic Director Keith Thomas, Coach Alan Andrus, Assistant Coach Dewayne Hollis, and managers Dustin Andrus, Payne Andrus, Austin Bartnett, and Chase Delaney, the Panthers played remarkably well as a team and achieved their goals; and

WHEREAS, Normangee High School and the City of Normangee take great pride in the Panthers for their exceptional skills and for practicing the highest ideals of sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the Normangee High School Panthers for their athletic prowess and congratulate them on winning the Class A Division 1 boys state basketball championship; and, be it further

basketball championship; and, be it further RESOLVED, That copies of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 11, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate