SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 149

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Charles H. Milby High School basketball team from Houston, which recently won the University Interscholastic League Class 5A boys state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Milby High School Buffaloes were victorious in their school's ninth appearance at the state tournament, defeating Cedar Hill High School by a score of 72-67; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a perfect 39-0 record; team members Tramaine Webster, J. J. Robinson, Jawann McClellan, Tavon Bailey, Kevin Quinney, Chris Jordan, Chris Ramirez, Larry Posey, Shakari Chandler, John Williams, and Leon St. Rose can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Jimmy Duffer and assistant coaches Sam Hines, Lee Hardy, and Sam Benitez and with the assistance of managers Angie Marquez, Veronica Del Toro, and Amir Ayyobi, the Buffaloes have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Milby High School and the City of Houston are proud of the Buffaloes for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the Charles H. Milby High School basketball team for their successful season and congratulate them on winning the boys Class 5A state basketball championship; and, be it further

basketball championship; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Gallegos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 14, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate