## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 153

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Baylor University Lady Bears basketball team for their outstanding 2003-2004 season; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Bears' fine performance over the season culminated in a trip to the Midwest Regionals in the National Collegiate Athletic Association Division I Women's Basketball Championship Tournament; defeating Loyola Marymount and Florida, the team reached the tournament's Sweet Sixteen before suffering a narrow 71-69 loss to top seed Tennessee; and

WHEREAS, Finishing the season with an impressive 26-9 record, the team was ranked eleventh in the season's final Division I Women's Basketball Coaches' Poll; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Kim Mulkey-Robertson and with the able support of associate head coach Bill Brock, assistant coach Johnny Derrick, assistant coach Jennifer Roberts, and graduate assistant Rekha Patterson, the Lady Bears developed outstanding teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, The Baylor University Lady Bears, Monique Jones, Chelsea Whitaker, Chanelle Fox, Jessika Stratton, Chameka Scott, Jordan Davis, Tiffanie Blackmon, Melanie Hamerly, Sophia Young, Abiola Wabara, Steffanie Blackmon, Dionne Brown, and Emily Niemann, are all highly talented athletes; and

WHEREAS, The Baylor University community can be justifiably proud of the members of the Lady Bears basketball team for their

S.R. No. 153

hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the
coaches and players of the Baylor University Lady Bears for
their outstanding achievements and extend to them congratulations
for reaching the Sweet Sixteen in the National Collegiate

Athletic Association Division I Women's Basketball Championship
Tournament; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a token of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Averitt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate