## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 158

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Ramon Emilio Rivera on the occasion of his retirement as principal of Eastwood Knolls School in El Paso after a 30-year career as an educator; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Rivera has been principal of Eastwood Knolls School since 1997 and served as principal of Parkland Middle School from 1991 through 1996; he was previously director of fine arts at Ysleta Independent School District from 1985 through 1990; and

WHEREAS, He earned a bachelor's degree in education from The University of Texas at El Paso and a master's degree in administration from Sul Ross State University; a distinguished leader in the community, he is admired and respected for his many accomplishments; and

WHEREAS, He served as president of the Texas Association of Elementary School Principals and as the Texas representative for the National Association of Elementary School Principals; he was a member of the board of directors for Christian Schools of El Paso, and he received the Outstanding Administrator Award from the

Region 15 Parent Teacher Association; and WHEREAS, A dedicated and resourceful educator, Ramon Rivera set high academic and ethical standards for his students that will enable them to become leaders in the community; he has had a positive impact on the lives of many children and faculty members, and his presence at Eastwood Knolls School will be greatly missed; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend Ramon Emilio Rivera for his many contributions to Eastwood Knolls School and to the education system of this state and extend to him best wishes for the retirement years ahead; and, be it further **RESOLVED**, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 13, 2004.

## Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate