SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 168

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the 50th anniversary of the landmark *Brown v. Board of Education* decision by the United States Supreme Court, which is being observed on May 17, 2004; and

WHEREAS, In the Brown v. Board of Education case, the Supreme Court ruled unanimously that separate educational facilities are inherently unequal and violate the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitution, which guarantees every citizen equal protection of the laws; the decision was handed down on May 17, 1954, and set our nation on the path to end racial segregation in the public schools; and

WHEREAS, The landmark case was brought by the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People on behalf of Linda Brown, a black fifth grade student in Topeka, Kansas, and other plaintiffs in Kansas, South Carolina, Virginia, and Delaware; all five cases were argued together on December 9, 1952, by Thurgood Marshall, a black lawyer with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People; the case was reargued on December 8, 1953, before the court reached its decision in 1954; and

WHEREAS, This historic Supreme Court case overturned the "separate but equal" doctrine of the 1896 *Plessy v. Ferguson* case; it has long been recognized as the turning point in the desegregation of our nation's public schools and the beginning of equality among all races under the law; and

WHEREAS, Since the court's decision, the African-American community and many other Americans from all walks of life have

1

S.R. No. 168

worked with passionate commitment and dedication to end segregation in all public facilities; and

WHEREAS, Our nation has made progress in moving toward the ideals of equality and justice in the public arena, and, with the goodwill and continued vigilance of all our citizens, more progress continues to be made; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby join in celebrating the 50th anniversary of the *Brown v. Board of Education* Supreme Court decision and pay tribute to the many individuals who continue to work to ensure equality for all the people in our great state and nation.

West

Armbrister Averitt Barrientos Brimer Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos Harris Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lindsay Lucio Madla Nelson Ogden Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Staples Van de Putte Wentworth Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate