SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 191

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Willie Kocurek on his selection for a 2004 Governor's Volunteer Award in the Lonestar Achievement Category; and

WHEREAS, The Governor's Volunteer Awards are a 21-year tradition, honoring Texas' most dedicated community volunteers; only 13 of these prestigious awards are given out annually; they are currently administered by the OneStar Foundation; and

WHEREAS, For the past 60 years, Willie Kocurek has supported the City of Austin through his leadership, his philanthropy, and his commitment to education; he has raised millions of dollars for educational funding and school construction and has served as a fund-raiser for such charitable organizations as the Capital Area Food Bank, the American Red Cross, and Reading is Fundamental; and WHEREAS, A highly respected member of the community,

WHEREAS, A highly respected member of the community, Willie Kocurek has truly lived out his belief that volunteerism and service strengthens the individual and the entire community; and

WHEREAS, For his outstanding contributions to Austin, Mr. Kocurek was recognized as the Most Worthy Citizen in 1980 by the Austin Board of Realtors; he was named Austinite of the Year in 1990, and he was inducted into the Lions Hall of Fame in 1992; and

WHEREAS, Willie Kocurek is a beloved leader in the Austin community and a source of strength to many, and he deserves legislative recognition for his dedication to volunteerism and his exceptional accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend Willie Kocurek for his outstanding community service and extend congratulations to him on his selection for a 2004 Governor's Volunteer Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Barrientos

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate