SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 193

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Grady High School Wildcats basketball team, which recently won the Class A Division II boys state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Wildcats defeated the Neches High School Tigers of Neches, Texas, by a score of 55-49 in the Class A Division II state final at the Erwin Center in Austin; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 35-2 record; team members Adam Cantu, Jobe Christon, Drew Swinson, Andrew Villa, Trent May, Nick Winford, Ben Hirth, Brent Madison, Noel Lopez, Doug Rutledge, Josh Hinojosa, Jason Pribyla, Clay Mitchell, Brody Pinkerton, and Jonathan Tunnell can take pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of Head Coach Carl Krug and Assistant Coach Johnny Peugh and with the assistance of manager Alisha Almand and staff members Michaela Pruitt, Emily Krug, and Leland Pechacek, the Grady Wildcats have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Grady High School and the town of Lenorah are proud of the Wildcats for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 78th Legislature, 4th Called Session, hereby commend the Grady Wildcats for their successful season and congratulate them on winning the boys Class A Division II state basketball championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Seliger

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 17, 2004.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate