H.R. No. 10 

WHEREAS, Walker County lost a dear friend and trusted public servant when the Honorable John James Pasket passed away on April 11, 2003; and WHEREAS, A lifelong resident of New Waverly, Judge Pasket attended New Waverly High School, where he participated in FFA activities and graduated as valedictorian in 1964; and WHEREAS, Throughout his life, he continued to be actively involved in the New Waverly Independent School District; Judge Pasket served on the school board, and he drove a morning and evening bus route for 20 years; indicative of his commitment to local education, only days before his passing, Judge Pasket organized a fund drive that raised more than $3,500 for the DECA Club's trip to the national competition in Florida; and WHEREAS, Judge Pasket was a former vice president of New Waverly State Bank and proprietor of his own service station before serving 25 years with distinction and honor as justice of the peace for Precinct #4; since his first election in 1978, the respected civic leader ran unopposed in all subsequent elections, a reflection of the high esteem in which his fellow citizens held him; and WHEREAS, A member of St. Joseph Catholic Church, he participated in the Knights of Columbus; Judge Pasket was also a member of the New Waverly Lions Club, and he helped to establish the Emergency Personnel Committee for Walker County and served as its committee chairman; and WHEREAS, Judge Pasket further benefited his community through his service as vice president of the New Waverly Library, as a member of the board of directors for the New Waverly Parks Foundation, and as vice president of the Heritage Society of Walker County; he was a distinguished leader in the Fantastic Neighbor Program and regularly assisted in the Operation Merry Christmas program; and WHEREAS, Judge Pasket was a notable public speaker and ably filled the role of master of ceremonies for Democratic rallies in Walker County as well as for Gulf Coast events and the new TxDOT weigh station on I-45; and WHEREAS, A dedicated family man, Judge Pasket married his high school sweetheart, Joyce, and they shared a strong bond of love for 30 years; their union was blessed with one daughter, Rachel, as well as a son-in-law, Freddie, and grandson, Ethan James Smith; Judge Pasket was also a deeply devoted son to his mother, Stella, with whom he shared a special relationship; and WHEREAS, Judge Pasket demonstrated a great love for life through his various interests and hobbies; he was fascinated by wolves and indulged in a passion for automobiles; a dirt-track race car driver in his youth, Judge Pasket spent his spare time rebuilding a 1964 Harley Davidson motorcycle and a 1966 red Chevy SS 396; and WHEREAS, Through his sterling tenure as justice of the peace for Precinct #4 and his extensive volunteerism, Judge Pasket positively influenced the lives of his fellow Texans and made his community a far better place, and his legacy of good works will continue to benefit individuals for generations to come; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby pay special tribute to the life of Judge John James Pasket and that deepest sympathy be extended to the members of his family: to his beloved wife, Joyce Pasket; to his daughter, Rachel, and her husband, Freddie; to his grandson, Ethan; and to his other relatives and numerous friends and admirers throughout the New Waverly community; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Judge John James Pasket. Kolkhorst Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Baxter Griggs Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Bohac Guillen Mowery Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Branch Haggerty Nixon Brown of Kaufman Hamilton Noriega Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Burnam Hardcastle Olivo Callegari Harper-Brown Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Canales Heflin Phillips Capelo Hegar Pickett Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Chavez Hochberg Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Hope Riddle Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Hupp Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Jones of Lubbock Smithee Dawson Jones of Bexar Solis Delisi Jones of Dallas Solomons Denny Keel Stick Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Dunnam Kolkhorst Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Laney Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Flores Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 10 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on May 19, 2003. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House