H.R. No. 481

WHEREAS, On March 13, 2003, the El Paso Commission for Women is inducting Len Golden Price into its Hall of Fame; and WHEREAS, Established in 1985, the commission is composed of El Paso citizens who are committed to the pursuit of equal rights and responsibilities for all women; inductees to the organization's Hall of Fame are recognized in one of five categories, including arts, civic leadership, education, professional, and public service; and WHEREAS, Selected for the professional category, Ms. Price has worked for the City of El Paso since 1988, beginning as an administrative assistant in the sanitation department, transferring to the police department nine years ago, and now holding the highest rank a civilian can hold within the department, administrative director; and WHEREAS, Overseeing some 200 employees, this esteemed woman has excelled as a natural leader; in addition to helping to bring more than $40 million in grants to the department, she has been instrumental in opening five new regional command centers and helped improve the department's automation capabilities, winning the respect and admiration of both her colleagues and the community at large; and WHEREAS, The success of the State of Texas, the strength of our communities, and the overall vitality of American society depend on the dedication of people like Len Price, who use their considerable talents and resources to serve others, and it is a privilege to join in honoring her at this time; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Len G. Price on her induction into the El Paso Commission for Women's Hall of Fame and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Price as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives. Chavez ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 481 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2003, by a non-record vote. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House