78R10788 WMS-D

By:  Kolkhorst                                                    H.R. No. 834

WHEREAS, The Sam Houston State University men's basketball team achieved great success during the 2002-2003 campaign, and truly gave its fans a season to remember; and WHEREAS, Having claimed the Southland Conference regular season title for the second time in four years, the Bearkats continued their winning ways by edging Stephen F. Austin 69-66 in overtime in the finals of the Southland Conference tournament to earn a berth in the 2003 NCAA Tournament, the team's first-ever NCAA bid; and WHEREAS, Although Sam Houston State fell to nationally ranked Florida in the first round of the NCAA tournament, the Bearkats earned the respect and admiration of all who witnessed their performance throughout their historic season; and WHEREAS, The Bearkats' success on the court is a result of the exceptional efforts of players Mario Kinsey, Jay Oliphant, Eddy Barlow, Othello Alford, Marcus Ebow, Sam Onwuchekwa, Robert Shannon, Rodrick Winters, Jason Stephenson, Chris Jordan, Felton Freeman, Eddy Fobbs, Donald Cole, and Nick Christopher; and WHEREAS, Although each player made significant contributions to the team's overall success, several also earned individual distinction, including Donald Cole, who was named Southland Conference Men's Basketball Player of the Year, Robert Shannon, tabbed for Second Team All-Southland Conference honors, and Eddy Fobbs, who was selected to the All-Southland Conference third team; and WHEREAS, Southland Conference Coach of the Year Bob Marlin provided his young charges with superb leadership and guidance, inspiring each of his players to perform at the highest level; and WHEREAS, These dedicated student-athletes, with their coaches and staff, are a source of great pride to all those associated with Sam Houston State University, and it is indeed appropriate that the team receive special legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate the members of the Sam Houston State University men's basketball team on winning the Southland Conference regular season and tournament championships and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for the team members and coaching staff as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.