H.R. No. 1809

WHEREAS, During the 78th Texas Legislative Session, Evelyn Velasquez has served as a legislative intern in the office of State Representative Joe E. Moreno, and her dedication is indeed worthy of special recognition; and WHEREAS, The daughter of Harvey and Magdalena Velasquez, Ms. Velasquez attended Pasadena High School and is currently a student at The University of Texas at Austin, where she is majoring in international business in finance; and WHEREAS, This noteworthy young Texan has had the opportunity to witness her state government functioning at its dynamic best during her internship; in addition to enhancing her knowledge of the legislative process and the issues facing citizens of the Lone Star State, she has gained valuable work experience in a political environment; and WHEREAS, Ms. Velasquez has performed her duties as a legislative intern with skill, and she is indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby commend Evelyn Velasquez for her service as a legislative intern and extend to her warmest best wishes for continued success and happiness in all her future endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Velasquez as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives. Moreno of Harris Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Baxter Griggs Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Bohac Guillen Mowery Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Branch Haggerty Nixon Brown of Kaufman Hamilton Noriega Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Burnam Hardcastle Olivo Callegari Harper-Brown Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Canales Heflin Phillips Capelo Hegar Pickett Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Chavez Hochberg Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Hope Riddle Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Hupp Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Jones of Lubbock Smithee Dawson Jones of Bexar Solis Delisi Jones of Dallas Solomons Denny Keel Stick Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Dunnam Kolkhorst Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Laney Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Flores Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 1809 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House