H.R. No. 1813

WHEREAS, Ozny Lucia Olvera has earned the distinction of being salutatorian at Galena Park High School, and for achieving this auspicious honor she is truly deserving of special legislative recognition; and WHEREAS, Earning the right to call oneself "salutatorian" requires not only intellect and aptitude, but four years of dedication to the highest academic standards; the salutatorian must display a firm understanding of the entire curriculum, from math and science to language arts to social studies, while demonstrating an unwavering commitment to education; and WHEREAS, The salutatorian serves as a role model and leads by example, combining a steadfast vision of excellence with a tenacious enthusiasm; the competition for this coveted honor is often fierce, although the spirit of the rivalry remains rooted in a tradition of goodwill and the rewards of the countless hours of study and preparation are myriad; and WHEREAS, The daughter of Ymelda Olvera, Ms. Olvera has earned the respect and admiration of her friends and classmates at Galena Park High School, and as she prepares to continue her education at Bowling Green State University in Ohio it is most fitting to pay tribute to her for this outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Ozny Lucia Olvera on being named the 2003 salutatorian at Galena Park High School and wish her well in all her future endeavors; and, be it further RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be prepared for Ms. Olvera as an expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives. Moreno of Harris Craddick Geren Mercer Allen Giddings Merritt Alonzo Goodman Miller Bailey Goolsby Moreno of Harris Baxter Griggs Moreno of El Paso Berman Grusendorf Morrison Bohac Guillen Mowery Bonnen Gutierrez Naishtat Branch Haggerty Nixon Brown of Kaufman Hamilton Noriega Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Burnam Hardcastle Olivo Callegari Harper-Brown Paxton Campbell Hartnett Pena Canales Heflin Phillips Capelo Hegar Pickett Casteel Hilderbran Pitts Castro Hill Puente Chavez Hochberg Quintanilla Chisum Hodge Raymond Christian Homer Reyna Coleman Hope Riddle Cook of Navarro Hopson Ritter Cook of Colorado Howard Rodriguez Corte Hughes Rose Crabb Hunter Seaman Crownover Hupp Smith of Tarrant Davis of Harris Isett Smith of Harris Davis of Dallas Jones of Lubbock Smithee Dawson Jones of Bexar Solis Delisi Jones of Dallas Solomons Denny Keel Stick Deshotel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Driver Keffer of Eastland Talton Dukes King Taylor Dunnam Kolkhorst Telford Dutton Krusee Thompson Edwards Kuempel Truitt Eiland Laney Turner Eissler Laubenberg Uresti Elkins Lewis Van Arsdale Ellis Luna Villarreal Escobar Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Flores Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong Garza McReynolds Woolley Gattis Menendez Zedler ______________________________ Speaker of the House I certify that H.R. No. 1813 was adopted by the House on June 1, 2003, by a non-record vote. ______________________________ Chief Clerk of the House