By:  Lucio, Hinojosa                                              S.B. No. 409

relating to the membership of the Texas Transportation Commission. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: SECTION 1. Subsections (a) and (b), Section 201.051, Transportation Code, are amended to read as follows: (a) The Texas Transportation Commission consists of five [three] members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the senate. (b) The members shall be appointed from different regions of the state [One member must reside in a rural area]. SECTION 2. Section 201.052, Transportation Code, is amended to read as follows: Sec. 201.052. TERMS. Members of the commission serve staggered six-year terms, with the terms of either one or two members [one member's term] expiring February 1 of each odd-numbered year. SECTION 3. Promptly after this Act takes effect, the governor shall appoint two additional members to the Texas Transportation Commission. Of those members, the governor shall designate one to serve a term expiring February 1, 2007, and one to serve a term expiring February 1, 2009. SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2003.