H.B. No. 721

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT 1 2 relating to the application of the professional prosecutors law to 3 the district attorney for the 42nd Judicial District. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 4 SECTION 1. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to 5 6 read as follows: Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 7 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 8 9 prosecutors: (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 10 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 11 12 35th, 36th, 38th, <u>42nd,</u> 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 13 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 14 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 15 235th, 253rd, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 16 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 17 18 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 19 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, 20 21 Galveston, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, 22

Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola,
Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor,
Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood,

By: Hilderbran

1

H.B. No. 721

1 and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone,
Grayson, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam,
Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk,
Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

8 SECTION 2. Section 43.1243(e), Government Code, is 9 repealed.

10

SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2003.