By: West H.B. No. 2261

Substitute the following for H.B. No. 2261:

By: Krusee C.S.H.B. No. 2261

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the composition of the Eighth and Eleventh courts of
- 3 appeals districts.
- 4 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 5 SECTION 1. Sections 22.201(i) and (l), Government Code, are
- 6 amended to read as follows:
- 7 (i) The Eighth Court of Appeals District is composed of the
- 8 counties of Andrews, Brewster, Crane, Crockett, Culberson,
- 9 [Ector,] El Paso, [Gaines, Glasscock,] Hudspeth, Jeff Davis,
- 10 Loving, [Martin, Midland, Pecos, Presidio, Reagan, Reeves,
- 11 Terrell, Upton, Ward, and Winkler.
- 12 (1) The Eleventh Court of Appeals District is composed of
- 13 the counties of Baylor, Borden, Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche,
- 14 Dawson, Eastland, Ector, Erath, Fisher, Gaines, Glasscock,
- 15 Haskell, Howard, Jones, Knox, Martin, Midland, Mitchell, Nolan,
- 16 Palo Pinto, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Taylor, and
- 17 Throckmorton.
- 18 SECTION 2. This Act does not affect the jurisdiction on
- 19 appeal of any case from a county that is transferred by this Act to a
- 20 different court of appeals district if the transcripts for the case
- 21 were filed before the effective date of this Act in the appropriate
- 22 court of appeals district.
- SECTION 3. This Act takes effect September 1, 2003.