By: Eiland

H.B. No. 2780

	A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
1	AN ACT
2	relating to the creation of the offices of district attorney for the
3	75th and 344th judicial districts and the abolition of the office of
4	district attorney for the 253rd Judicial District.
5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
6	SECTION 1. Subchapter B, Chapter 43, Government Code, is
7	amended by adding Sections 43.1375 and 43.1777 to read as follows:
8	Sec. 43.1375. 75TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. (a) The voters of
9	the 75th Judicial District elect a district attorney who represents
10	the state in cases before the district courts of Liberty County.
11	(b) The Commissioners Court of Liberty County may
12	supplement the state salary of the district attorney. The
13	supplemental compensation may not exceed \$5,000 a year.
14	Sec. 43.1777. 344TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT. (a) The voters of
15	the 344th Judicial District elect a district attorney who
16	represents the state in cases before the district courts of
17	Chambers County.
18	(b) The Commissioners Court of Chambers County may
19	supplement the state salary of the district attorney. The
20	supplemental compensation may not exceed \$5,000 a year.
21	SECTION 2. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
22	read as follows:
23	Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
24	applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state

1

H.B. No. 2780

1 prosecutors:

2 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 3 35th, 36th, 38th, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 4 5 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 75th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 6 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 7 8 235th, [253rd,] 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 9

10 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 11 12 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Galveston, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, 13 14 Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, 15 Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, 16 17 and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone,
Grayson, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam,
Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk,
Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

SECTION 3. Section 43.170, Government Code, is repealed.
SECTION 4. This Act takes effect September 1, 2003.

2