H.B. No. 2937

1 AN ACT

- 2 relating to the creation of the office of criminal district
- 3 attorney of Grayson County and to the abolition of the office of
- 4 county attorney of Grayson County.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:
- 6 SECTION 1. Section 44.001, Government Code, is amended to
- 7 read as follows:
- 8 Sec. 44.001. ELECTION. The voters of each of the following
- 9 counties elect a criminal district attorney: Anderson, Austin,
- 10 Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin,
- 11 Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Galveston, Grayson,
- 12 Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson,
- 13 Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola,
- 14 Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor,
- 15 Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood,
- 16 and Yoakum.
- 17 SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 44, Government Code, is
- amended by adding Section 44.191 to read as follows:
- 19 Sec. 44.191. GRAYSON COUNTY. (a) The criminal district
- 20 <u>attorney shall attend each term and session of the district courts</u>
- 21 in Grayson County and each term and session of the inferior courts
- 22 of the county held for the transaction of criminal business and
- 23 shall exclusively represent the state in all criminal matters
- 24 before those courts.

- 1 (b) The criminal district attorney shall perform the duties
- 2 conferred by law on county and district attorneys in the various
- 3 counties and districts.
- 4 (c) The criminal district attorney shall collect the fees,
- 5 commissions, and perquisites that are provided by law for similar
- 6 services rendered by a district or county attorney.
- 7 <u>(d) The criminal district attorney is entitled to receive in</u>
- 8 equal monthly installments compensation from the state equal to the
- 9 amount paid by the state to district attorneys. The state
- 10 compensation shall be paid by the comptroller as appropriated by
- 11 the legislature.
- 12 (e) A vacancy in the office of criminal district attorney is
- 13 filled by appointment by the Commissioners Court of Grayson County.
- 14 The appointee holds office until the next general election.
- 15 SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to
- 16 read as follows:
- 17 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter
- 18 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state
- 19 prosecutors:
- 20 (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th,
- 21 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th,
- 35th, 36th, 38th, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd,
- 23 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th,
- 24 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd,
- 25 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th,
- 26 235th, 253rd, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th,
- 27 349th, and 355th judicial districts;

H.B. No. 2937

- 1 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties 2 of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell,
- 3 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland,
- 4 Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper,
- 5 Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton,
- 6 Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant,
- 7 Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller,
- 8 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and
- 9 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of
- 10 district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron,
- 11 Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone,
- 12 [Grayson, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam,
- 13 Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk,
- 14 Terry, Webb, and Willacy.
- 15 SECTION 4. Section 45.191, Government Code, is repealed.
- 16 SECTION 5. The office of county attorney of Grayson County
- 17 is abolished.
- 18 SECTION 6. Notwithstanding Section 41.010, Government
- 19 Code, the initial vacancy in the office of criminal district
- 20 attorney of Grayson County on creation of the office shall be filled
- 21 by election. The office of criminal district attorney of Grayson
- 22 County exists for the purposes of the primary and general elections
- 23 in 2004. The qualified voters of the county shall elect the initial
- 24 criminal district attorney of Grayson County at the general
- 25 election in 2004 for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2005.
- 26 Thereafter, the criminal district attorney of Grayson County shall
- 27 be elected for a four-year term as provided by Section 65, Article

H.B. No. 2937

- 1 XVI, Texas Constitution. A vacancy after the initial vacancy is
- filled as provided by Section 44.191(e), Government Code, as added
- 3 by this Act.
- 4 SECTION 7. (a) Except as provided by Subsection (b) of this
- 5 section, this Act takes effect January 1, 2004.
- 6 (b) Sections 4 and 5 of this Act take effect January 1, 2005.

Η	D	$N \cap$	2027
$\neg$	$\overline{}$	131()	/ 4/ 7 /

		H.B. No. 2937
Preside	nt of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I cer	tify that H.B. No. 293	37 was passed by the House on May 6,
2003, by a n	on-record vote.	
		Chief Clerk of the House
I cer	tify that H.B. No. 29	37 was passed by the Senate on May
28, 2003, by	the following vote:	Yeas 31, Nays 0.
		Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:		_
	Date	
_		_
	Governor	