1-1 By: Phillips (Senate Sponsor - Estes) H.B. No. 2937 1-2 1-3 (In the Senate - Received from the House May 7, 2003; May 9, 2003, read first time and referred to Committee on Jurisprudence; May 22, 2003, reported favorably by the following vote: Yeas 5, Nays 0; May 22, 2003, sent to printer.) 1-4 1-5 1-6 1-7 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED AN ACT 1-8 relating to the creation of the office of criminal district attorney of Grayson County and to the abolition of the office of 1-9 1-10 1-11 county attorney of Grayson County. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS: 1-12 SECTION 1. Section 44.001, Government Code, is amended to 1-13 read as follows: 1-14 Sec. 44.001. ELECTION. The voters of each of the following counties elect a criminal district attorney: Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Galveston, <u>Grayson</u>, 1**-**15 1**-**16 1-17 Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, 1-18 1-19 1-20 1-21 1-22 and Yoakum. SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 44, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 44.191 to read as follows: 1-23 1-24 Sec. 44.191. GRAYSON COUNTY. (a) The criminal district attorney shall attend each term and session of the district courts 1-25 1-26 in Grayson County and each term and session of the inferior courts 1-27 1-28 of the county held for the transaction of criminal business and shall exclusively represent the state in all criminal matters 1-29 before those courts. (b) The criminal district attorney shall perform the duties 1-30 1-31 1-32 conferred by law on county and district attorneys in the various 1-33 counties and districts. (c) The criminal district attorney shall collect the fees, 1-34 commissions, and perquisites that are provided by law for similar services rendered by a district or county attorney. (d) The criminal district attorney is entitled to receive in 1-35 1-36 1-37 1-38 equal monthly installments compensation from the state equal to the amount paid by the state to district attorneys. The state compensation shall be paid by the comptroller as appropriated by 1-39 1-40 th<u>e legislature.</u> 1-41 1-42 (e) A vacancy in the office of criminal district attorney is 1-43 filled by appointment by the Commissioners Court of Grayson County. The appointee holds office until the next general election. SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is am 1-44 1-45 is amended to 1-46 read as follows: 1-47 Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter 1-48 applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state 1-49 prosecutors: (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 1-50 1-51 1-52 1-53 1-54 1-55 1-56 1-57 349th, and 355th judicial districts; 1-58 (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, 1-59 Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Galveston, <u>Grayson</u>, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, 1-60 1-61 1-62 1-63 1-64

1

H.B. No. 2937

2-1 Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

2-2 (3) the county attorneys performing the duties of district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, Fannin, Freestone, [Grayson,] Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, 2-3 2 - 42-5 2-6 2-7 Terry, Webb, and Willacy. 2-8

SECTION 4. Section 45.191, Government Code, is repealed.

SECTION 5. The office of county attorney of Grayson County is abolished.

SECTION 6. Notwithstanding Section 41.010, Government Code, the initial vacancy in the office of criminal district 2-11 2-12 attorney of Grayson County on creation of the office shall be filled 2-13 2-14 by election. The office of criminal district attorney of Grayson County exists for the purposes of the primary and general elections in 2004. The qualified voters of the county shall elect the initial criminal district attorney of Grayson County at the general election in 2004 for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2005. 2**-**15 2**-**16 2-17 2-18 Thereafter, the criminal district attorney of Grayson County shall be elected for a four-year term as provided by Section 65, Article XVI, Texas Constitution. A vacancy after the initial vacancy is 2-19 2-20 2-21 2-22 filled as provided by Section 44.191(e), Government Code, as added 2-23 by this Act.

SECTION 7. (a) Except as provided by Subsection (b) of this 2-24 2-25

2-26

2-27

2-9

2-10

* * * * *