H.C.R. No. 41

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Former Houston Oilers defensive end Elvin Bethea has 2 received the highest honor in professional football with his

induction into the National Football League (NFL) Hall of Fame in

4 2003; and

of the Houston Oilers; and

3

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

5 WHEREAS, A two-time All-NAIA offensive lineman for North 6 Carolina A&T, Mr. Bethea was chosen by the Houston Oilers in the 7 third round of the 1968 NFL draft; during the next 16 years, he 8 demonstrated a rare gift for shedding blockers and tackling ball 9 carriers and proved to be one of the greatest players in the history

WHEREAS, The 6-foot-3 defensive end holds the Oiler record for most games played, at 210, and most seasons played, at 16; he appeared in a record-tying nine All-Star competitions, including eight Pro Bowl games; he also led the team in quarterback sacks for six seasons, and his 1973 total of 17 sacks remains the single-season standard; and

WHEREAS, Formidable to opponents but cherished by teammates, coaches, and fans, Mr. Bethea retired in 1983 and joined an elite group that same year when the Oilers retired his jersey number; it is a privilege at this time to pay tribute to the exceptional athleticism and sterling career of this esteemed gentleman; now, therefore, be it

23 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas 24 hereby honor Elvin Bethea on his induction into the National

H.C.R. No. 41

- 1 Football League Hall of Fame in 2003 and extend to him sincere best
- 2 wishes for success and happiness in the future; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Mr. Bethea as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives and Senate.

Dutton

## H.C.R. No. 41

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez

Zedler

Mercer

Geren

				]	н.с.	R. No.	41
President of the Senate		Ç	Speaker (	of th	е Нс	use	
I certify that H.C.R. February 12, 2003, by a non-re			adopted	by	the	House	on
residary 12, 2003, sy a non re							
		Chief Clerk of the House					
I certify that H.C.R.			adopted	by t	he	Senate	on
February 12, 2003, by a viva-v	oce vote	÷ •					
		Ç	Secretar	y of	the	Senate	
APPROVED:							
Date							
Governor							