H.C.R. No. 45

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Dr. Arthur K. Smith, chancellor of the University of Houston (UH) System and president of the UH main campus, is retiring effective September 2, 2003; and

WHEREAS, Since assuming his dual position on April 1, 1997, Dr. Smith has ably guided the UH system and main campus through a period of impressive development; advances include the merger of the system and main campus administrations, the implementation of new strategic planning, budgeting, and computing systems, the planning and construction of major new building projects on all four campuses and in Sugar Land, and dramatic growth in grant funding for research and in student enrollment and diversity; and

WHEREAS, Under Dr. Smith's skilled leadership, the UH main campus has achieved record student enrollment, together with higher student retention and graduation rates and improved academic performance; increased grant funding is moving the school closer to its goal of attaining recognition as a top-tier research university, and one of the most extensive construction and renovation campaigns in the school's 76-year history is currently underway; and

WHEREAS, Before becoming the first individual to hold the combined offices of UH chancellor and president, Dr. Smith served for six years as president of the University of Utah, which has named him president emeritus; he has also served at the State University of New York at Binghamton and at the University of South

- H.C.R. No. 45
- 1 Carolina, holding the posts of graduate dean, chief research
- 2 officer, chief finance and business officer, and chief academic
- 3 officer; and
- WHEREAS, A graduate of the U.S. Naval Academy and former navy
- 5 aviator, Dr. Smith earned a Ph.D. in government at Cornell
- 6 University, focusing on Latin American studies, comparative
- 7 politics, and international politics; and
- 8 WHEREAS, After stepping down from his present offices, Dr.
- 9 Smith will receive an at-large appointment as University Professor
- 10 at the UH main campus; in addition to resuming his academic work and
- 11 other interests, he is looking forward to spending more time with
- 12 his wife, June, their 3 children, and 11 grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, The UH System and UH main campus have gained
- 14 immeasurably from Dr. Smith's incisive leadership, deep
- 15 experience, and passionate commitment to the mission of these
- institutions, and it is indeed a pleasure to honor him at this time;
- 17 now, therefore, be it
- 18 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 19 hereby congratulate Dr. Arthur K. Smith and his wife, June, on the
- 20 occasion of his retirement as chancellor of the University of
- 21 Houston System and president of the University of Houston and
- 22 extend to them sincere best wishes for this next chapter in their
- 23 lives; and, be it further

H.C.R. No. 45

- 1 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 2 prepared for Dr. and Mrs. Smith as an expression of high regard by
- 3 the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

Eissler Wong

## H.C.R. No. 45

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel HillPuente Quintanilla Castro Hochberg Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Wong Garza Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

				Н	.C.	R. No.	45
President of the Senate			Speaker o	of the	Но	use	
110010000 01 0110 0011000		~		7_ 0110			
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 45	was	adopted	by t	he	House	on
February 18, 2003, by a non-re	ecord vot	e.					
	_						
		C1	hief Cle:	rk of	the	House	
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 45	was	adopted	by th	ne S	Senate	on
February 19, 2003, by a viva-v	oce vote						
	_	S	Secretary	y of t	he	Senate	
APPROVED:							
Date							
Governor							