H.C.R. No. 48

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Having exemplified the highest standards of the
- 2 teaching profession, Sonya Blackwell Smith of the Dunbar 6th Grade
- 3 Center in Fort Worth has been named an Academic Chair for Teaching
- 4 Excellence in English; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Ms. Smith was honored during a luncheon at the
- 6 Petroleum Club and received a \$5,000 honorarium for her selection
- 7 as the English teaching chair sponsored by Bank One; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Chosen by business and community leaders after
- 9 undergoing a rigorous selection process, recipients of this
- 10 prestigious honor are recognized for their dedication, innovative
- 11 classroom activities, and willingness to seek professional
- development opportunities that will further improve their teaching
- 13 skills; and
- WHEREAS, Created in 1994 by Tandy Corporation/Radio Shack to
- acknowledge the expertise of area teachers in math and science, the
- 16 teaching chair program has expanded throughout the years as more
- 17 sponsors have come forward to recognize other fields of education;
- 18 and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through her professional excellence and commitment,
- 20 Ms. Smith has shown herself to be an outstanding educator, and she
- 21 truly deserves special commendation from the State of Texas; now,
- 22 therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 24 hereby congratulate Sonya Blackwell Smith on being selected as an

H.C.R. No. 48

- 1 Academic Chair for Teaching Excellence in English and extend to her
- 2 sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for Ms. Smith as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives and Senate.

Lewis

	H.C.R. No. 48
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R.	No. 48 was adopted by the House on
February 12, 2003, by a non-re	cord vote.
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. N	o. 48 was adopted by the Senate on May
31, 2003, by a viva-voce vote.	
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	