H.C.R. No. 86

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, All Texans owe a debt of gratitude to the thousands
of men who served in the Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC); and

3 WHEREAS, Established in 1933 by President Franklin D. 4 Roosevelt, the Civilian Conservation Corps operated until 1942, 5 employing 2.5 million young men in nearly 3,000 camps throughout 6 the nation and staging countless improvement projects that served 7 to solidify our nation's infrastructure while offering opportunity 8 to American families in need; and

9 WHEREAS, More than 2,600 CCC members were responsible for the 10 development of our state parks; through the efforts of the CCC, 56 11 parks were established between 1933 and 1942, and 31 of those parks 12 are still in existence, overseen today by the Texas Parks and 13 Wildlife Department; and

WHEREAS, The men of the CCC were charged with overseeing all aspects of the burgeoning parks system, including design and construction of bridges, culverts, and water features, as well as the outstanding landscaping enjoyed by visitors and residents alike; in addition, many of these talented men constructed tables, benches, and other structures that remain in use today; and

20 WHEREAS, The legacy of the Civilian Conservation Corps is 21 indeed great, and it is a privilege to pay tribute to those 22 individuals who contributed to the many successful projects 23 undertaken by this noteworthy government agency; now, therefore, be 24 it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas 2 hereby pay tribute to the Civilian Conservation Corps and designate 3 March 31, 2003, as Texas Civilian Conservation Corps Day at the 4 State Capitol.

Gallego

H.C.R. No. 86

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 86

H.C.R. No. 86

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 86 was adopted by the House on March 31, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 86 was adopted by the Senate on May 30, 2003, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor