H.C.R. No. 200

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Citizens of the State of Texas were shocked and 2 deeply saddened by the tragic loss of the NASA space shuttle 3 Columbia and her extraordinary crew when the shuttle broke up during reentry over the Texas sky on February 1, 2003; and 4 5 WHEREAS, The STS-107 mission crew was composed of commander 6 Rick Husband, pilot William C. McCool, payload commander Michael P. Anderson, mission specialist David M. Brown, mission specialist 7 Kalpana Chawla, mission specialist Laurel B. Clark, and payload 8 specialist Ilan Ramon; all of these remarkable individuals resided 9 in Texas and were respected and admired for their bravery, courage, 10 11 and dedication to their mission and to the exploration of space; and 12 WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Legislature remain proud of the 13 crew's contributions to science and engineering, international 14 cooperation, human exploration, and the celebration of the human 15 spirit; and WHEREAS, A key component of the NASA mission is "to inspire 16 the next generation of explorers," and Columbia's brilliant, 17 talented, and accomplished crew members will forever be remembered 18 as trailblazing heroes by young people who aspire to pursue the 19 noble cause of space exploration and scientific research; and 20 21 WHEREAS, The Johnson Space Center and the Texas Legislature 22 have long encouraged the students of this state to study math, science, and engineering through their collaborative sponsorship 23

of education and technology programs designed to interest young

24

H.C.R. No. 200

- 1 people in the excitement of space exploration, and this goal has
- 2 only been strengthened through the contributions of the crew of the
- 3 space shuttle Columbia and those who came before them; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 6 hereby recognize the numerous benefits to humankind of space flight
- 7 and the importance of maintaining support for innovative programs
- 8 that inspire future scientists and engineers who will continue the
- 9 legacy of Columbia and her crew; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives and Senate
- 11 hereby pay tribute to the fallen heroes of the space shuttle
- 12 Columbia, whose memory will be forever honored and cherished, and
- 13 extend deepest condolences to the members of their families, the
- 14 Johnson Space Center community, and the entire NASA family.

Davis of Harris Eiland Talton Taylor Hochberg

## H.C.R. No. 200

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Raymond Chisum Homer Reyna Riddle Christian Норе Coleman Hopson Ritter Cook of Navarro Howard Rodriguez Cook of Colorado Hughes Rose Corte Hunter Seaman Smith of Tarrant Crabb Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Harris Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smithee Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Solis Dawson Solomons Stick Delisi Keel Keffer of Dallas Swinford Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Talton Driver King Taylor Dukes Kolkhorst Telford Thompson Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Truitt Edwards Turner Laney Eiland Laubenberg Uresti Eissler Lewis Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Villarreal Ellis Mabry West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Wise Martinez Fischer Wohlgemuth Flores Flynn McCall Wolens Gallego McClendon Wong McReynolds Woolley Garza Gattis Menendez Zedler

Mercer

Geren

тт	$\alpha$	Ъ	NT -	200
Н	. ( '	. к.	No.	ノロロ

	n.C.R. NO. 200
President of the Senate	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No	o. 200 was unanimously adopted by a
rising vote of the House on Apri	1 15, 2003.
	Chief Clerk of the House
I certify that H.C.R. No	o. 200 was unanimously adopted by a
rising vote of the Senate on Apr	il 15, 2003.
	Secretary of the Senate
APPROVED:	
Date	
Governor	