By: Davis of Harris

H.C.R. No. 200

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Citizens of the State of Texas were shocked and deeply saddened by the tragic loss of the NASA space shuttle Columbia and her extraordinary crew when the shuttle broke up during reentry over the Texas sky on February 1, 2003; and
WHEREAS, The STS-107 mission crew was composed of commander Rick Husband, pilot William C. McCool, payload commander Michael P. Anderson, mission specialist David M. Brown, mission specialist Kalpana Chawla, mission specialist Laurel B. Clark, and payload

Kalpana Chawla, mission specialist Laurel B. Clark, and payload specialist Ilan Ramon; all of these remarkable individuals resided in Texas and were respected and admired for their bravery, courage, and dedication to their mission and to the exploration of space; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Legislature remain proud of the crew's contributions to science and engineering, international cooperation, human exploration, and the celebration of the human

15 spirit; and

WHEREAS, A key component of the NASA mission is "to inspire the next generation of explorers," and *Columbia*'s brilliant, talented, and accomplished crew members will forever be remembered as trailblazing heroes by young people who aspire to pursue the noble cause of space exploration and scientific research; and

WHEREAS, The Johnson Space Center and the Texas Legislature have long encouraged the students of this state to study math, science, and engineering through their collaborative sponsorship of education and technology programs designed to interest young

H.C.R. No. 200

- 1 people in the excitement of space exploration, and this goal has
- 2 only been strengthened through the contributions of the crew of the
- 3 space shuttle Columbia and those who came before them; now,
- 4 therefore, be it
- 5 RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 6 hereby recognize the numerous benefits to humankind of space flight
- 7 and the importance of maintaining support for innovative programs
- 8 that inspire future scientists and engineers who will continue the
- 9 legacy of *Columbia* and her crew; and, be it further
- 10 RESOLVED, That the Texas House of Representatives and Senate
- 11 hereby pay tribute to the fallen heroes of the space shuttle
- 12 Columbia, whose memory will be forever honored and cherished, and
- 13 extend deepest condolences to the members of their families, the
- 14 Johnson Space Center community, and the entire NASA family.