By: Lewis H.C.R. No. 216

CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, A number of talented elementary and middle school students representing Area III participated in the Fort Worth Independent School District's 2002 spelling bee contest, and the event represented the culmination of a great deal of hard work and preparation on the part of its contestants; and

WHEREAS, These bright young students showcased their spelling abilities by winning their respective campus bees; they were then afforded the opportunity to test their spelling skills against other winners from schools throughout the district; and

WHEREAS, Brian Mason of Dunbar Middle School won the coveted title of Area III champion at the regional spelling bee, demonstrating his mastery of this essential skill, while Jennifer Garcia of Harlean Beal Elementary School also put in a strong showing and won the runner-up position in the regional competition; and

WHEREAS, Students who won their individual school spelling bees include Jeanetta Clopton of Dunbar Sixth Grade Center, Amatoya Dennis of Glencrest Sixth Grade Center, Julia Mares of Carter Park Elementary School, Alexia Calton of Maude I. Logan Elementary School, Ricardo Martinez of Christene C. Moss Elementary School, Arnold Cabral of Glen Park Elementary School, Gabriel Blackmon of Mitchell Boulevard Elementary School, Alejandra Jacobo of Oaklawn Elementary School, Jeffery Moss of A. M. Pate Elementary School, Keara Gary of Maudrie Walton Elementary School, and Darryl Green of

- 1 David K. Sellars Elementary School; and
- WHEREAS, Runners-up include Addie Simpson of Dunbar Sixth
- 3 Grade Center, Arturo Delgado of Glencrest Sixth Grade Center, Tavoo
- 4 Terrill of Carter Park Elementary School, Reece Anthony of Maude I.
- 5 Logan Elementary School, Roneisha Shed of Christene C. Moss
- 6 Elementary School, Elaine Guadian of Harlean Beal Elementary
- 7 School, Lloyd Hunter of Glen Park Elementary School, Crystal Taylor
- 8 of Mitchell Boulevard Elementary School, Dana Hardgraves of Oaklawn
- 9 Elementary School, Elandra Jackson of A. M. Pate Elementary School,
- 10 Ashley Hill of Maudrie Walton Elementary School, and Andrielle
- 11 Scott of David K. Sellars Elementary School; and
- WHEREAS, All of these talented young Texans have exhibited
- 13 superior spelling ability, dedication, and drive, and their
- 14 outstanding success is indeed worthy of special recognition; now,
- 15 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 17 hereby honor all of the Area III participants in the Fort Worth
- 18 Independent School District's 2002 spelling bee contest and extend
- 19 to them sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness;
- and, be it further
- 21 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 22 prepared for the fine young people as an expression of high regard
- 23 by the Texas House of Representatives and Senate.