HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, James L. Haley of Austin has for three decades 2 distinguished himself as a preeminent writer, historian, and 3 scholar, and his life's work has truly transformed our 4 understanding of the people and events that have shaped the history 5 and culture of the Lone Star State; and

6 WHEREAS, A native of Fort Worth, Mr. Haley graduated summa 7 cum laude from The University of Texas at Arlington with a degree in 8 political science; he published his first national magazine article 9 at the age of 19 and, after pursuing graduate studies at The 10 University of Texas School of Law, devoted himself full-time to his 11 true calling as a writer and historian; and

12 WHEREAS, His first book, The Buffalo War: The History of the 13 Red River Indian Uprising of 1874, was published in 1976 and remains 14 the definitive account of the final war of the Comanche, Kiowa, and Cheyenne Indians against Anglo domination; Mr. Haley is also the 15 author of two other books about Plains Indian history, Apaches: A 16 History and Culture Portrait and The Kings of San Carlos, a 17 fictional account of the colorful career of Apache Indian agent 18 John P. Clum; and 19

20 WHEREAS, Renowned for the clarity and vibrancy of his prose, 21 as well as the meticulous nature of his research, this remarkable 22 writer has chronicled the history of the Lone Star State in such 23 works as Texas: An Album of History, Texas: From Spindletop 24 Through World War II, and Stephen F. Austin and the Founding of

1

Texas; next year Simon & Schuster will publish a one-volume 1 2 compendium titled The Epic History of Texas, a book that is certain 3 to become a classic as well; during the sesquicentennial of Texas 4 statehood, Mr. Haley was invited to serve as guest curator of an 5 exhibition of artifacts and memorabilia related to the 1845 6 annexation of Texas by the United States, returning to the State 7 Capitol one year later to help prepare an exhibition titled "A 8 Suitable Residence: The Texas Governors and the Executive Mansion"; and 9

WHEREAS, In 2002, Mr. Haley published the largest and most 10 comprehensive biography ever written about Sam Houston, the first 11 of the Republic of Texas; this biography, 12 president which represents the culmination of 15 years of labor, was immediately 13 14 hailed as the authoritative work on this legendary figure and has 15 won literary accolades from organizations that include the Texas State Historical Association and the Western Writers of America; 16 17 over the course of his illustrious career, Mr. Haley has firmly established his own place in Texas history, leaving behind him a 18 legacy of great historical and literary accomplishments; now, 19 therefore, be it 20

RESOLVED, That the 78th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby commend James L. Haley of Austin on his extraordinary and innumerable contributions to Texas literature and the preservation of Texas history and extend to him warmest best wishes for continued happiness and success in his future endeavors; and, be it further

26 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 27 prepared for Mr. Haley as an expression of high regard by the Texas

2

1 House of Representatives and Senate.

Craddick

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Escobar Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis

Geren Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hilderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez

Mercer Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.C.R. No. 255

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 255 was adopted by the House on May 23, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House

I certify that H.C.R. No. 255 was adopted by the Senate on May 23, 2003, by a viva-voce vote.

Secretary of the Senate

APPROVED: _____

Date

Governor