By: West

H.J.R. No. 73

A JOINT RESOLUTION

proposing a constitutional amendment to provide that the Railroad Commission of Texas is governed by a five-member commission, two of whom are appointed by the governor.

4

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF TEXAS:

5 SECTION 1. Section 30(b), Article XVI, Texas Constitution,
6 is amended to read as follows:

7 (b) When a Railroad Commission is created by law it shall be composed of <u>five</u> [three] Commissioners. Three of the Commissioners 8 [who] shall be elected by the people at a general election for State 9 officers and two of the Commissioners shall be appointed by the 10 11 Governor. Their [, and their] terms of office shall be for six years. 12 And one or two Railroad Commissioners [Commissioner] shall be elected or appointed every two years. In case of vacancy in an 13 14 elected position [said office] the Governor of the State shall fill said vacancy by appointment until the next general election. 15

SECTION 2. The following temporary provision is added to the Texas Constitution:

18 <u>TEMPORARY PROVISION. (a)</u> This temporary provision applies 19 <u>to the constitutional amendment proposed by the 78th Legislature,</u> 20 <u>Regular Session, 2003, providing that the Railroad Commission of</u> 21 <u>Texas will be governed by a five-member commission consisting of</u> 22 <u>three elected commissioners and two appointed commissioners</u> 23 <u>instead of an elected three-member commission.</u>

24 (b) The first two railroad commissioners appointed under

1

H.J.R. No. 73

1 the amendment shall be appointed by the governor to serve terms that 2 expire January 1, 2007, and January 1, 2009, respectively. 3 (c) This temporary provision expires January 1, 2009. 4 SECTION 3. This proposed constitutional amendment shall be submitted to the voters at an election to be held November 4, 2003. 5 The ballot shall be printed to permit voting for or against the 6 proposition: "The constitutional amendment to provide that the 7 Railroad Commission of Texas will be governed by a five-member 8 commission consisting of three elected commissioners and two 9 commissioners appointed by the governor instead of an elected 10 11 three-member commission."

2