H.R. No. 16

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Over the course of two distinguished careers--as a
soldier and as a man of letters--T. R. Fehrenbach has rendered
enormous service to his country and to his native state; and

WHEREAS, The son of a pioneer South Texas family, Mr. Fehrenbach was born in San Benito, Texas, in 1925; he attended schools in Texas and California and subsequently enrolled in Princeton University, where he graduated magna cum laude in 1947; and

9 WHEREAS, Mr. Fehrenbach saw combat during World War II and 10 again in the Korean War, rising from the rank of platoon sergeant to 11 that of company commander and battalion staff officer of the 72nd 12 Tank Battalion, 2nd Infantry Division; after retiring from active 13 service with the rank of lieutenant colonel, he continued to serve 14 in the Army Reserve as a major with an armor regiment; and

WHEREAS, Since the publication of his first book in 1961, Mr. 15 gained widespread renown 16 Fehrenbach has as а historian, commentator, and author; he is known especially for his books Lone 17 18 Star: A History of Texas and the Texans, which served as the basis of a PBS miniseries, and This Kind of War, a classic military 19 20 account of the Korean War and required reading for all U.S. troops 21 stationed in South Korea; his works also include Fire and Blood, a 22 history of Mexico; Comanches: The Destruction of a People; Texas: A Salute from Above; The Battle of Anzio; and U.S. Marines in 23 24 Action; and

1

H.R. No. 16

WHEREAS, Altogether, this eminent Texan has published 18 1 nonfiction books and had his works translated into 10 different 2 3 languages, in addition to being assigned in university courses and designated as club selections; moreover, he has contributed to such 4 5 periodicals as Atlantic Monthly, Texas Monthly, Saturday Evening 6 Post, and The New Republic, as well as numerous foreign newspapers 7 and magazines; he currently serves as a Sunday editorial columnist 8 for the San Antonio Express-News; and

9 WHEREAS, A trustee of the State History Museum Foundation, 10 Mr. Fehrenbach is also a former chair and three-term member of the 11 Texas Historical Commission (THC), which has made him a 12 commissioner emeritus; moreover, he has served on the Texas 2000 13 Commission and chaired the Texas Antiquities Committee; and

14 WHEREAS, In recognition of his extensive achievements, Mr. 15 Fehrenbach has been named a fellow of the Texas State Historical Association, a member of the Philosophical Society of Texas, and a 16 17 Knight of San Jacinto, the highest tribute conferred by the Sons of the Republic of Texas; in addition, the THC has created the T. R. 18 Fehrenbach Book Award in his honor to encourage and celebrate 19 scholarly work in Texas history; on May 22, 2002, Mr. Fehrenbach 20 21 received commendation for his work in military history at a special awards ceremony at the Pentagon, and that evening he served as 22 reviewing official for a Twilight Tattoo at the Ellipse on the 23 24 grounds of the White House; and

25 WHEREAS, After an outstanding career in the armed services of 26 his country, T. R. Fehrenbach has established himself as one of the 27 most highly regarded historians of Texas and the American military,

2

1 and it is a pleasure to recognize his tremendous contributions to 2 this nation and the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor T. R. Fehrenbach for his exceptional lifetime achievements and extend to him its deep appreciation for his extensive efforts to preserve and interpret the heritage of this state; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Mr. Fehrenbach as an expression of high regard by the 10 Texas House of Representatives.

Delisi

H.R. No. 16

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper**-**Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woolley Zedler

H.R. No. 16

H.R. No. 16

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 16 was adopted by the House on March 3, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House