H.R. No. 22

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Denton County have gathered 2 in Austin to celebrate Denton County Day at the State Capitol, and 3 this notable event offers an ideal opportunity to recognize the 4 county's many fine attributes; and

5 WHEREAS, Denton County was created from Fannin County by the 6 Texas Legislature in 1846, and was named for a pioneer preacher and 7 lawyer, John Bunyan Denton; and

8 WHEREAS, The community experienced tremendous growth with 9 the arrival of the railroad in the 1880s, and as residents rapidly 10 increased their production of wheat and cotton, the area earned 11 recognition within Texas and beyond as a significant agricultural 12 producer; and

WHEREAS, Denton County welcomed the establishment of Texas Normal College and the Girls' Industrial College in 1890 and 1903, respectively; known today as The University of North Texas and Texas Woman's University, the schools have greatly influenced the area, both economically and culturally; and

WHEREAS, Denton, the seat of Denton County, was established in 1857 and incorporated in 1866; offering a compelling mix of historical and modern attractions, the community was designated a Main Street City in 1999 and is home to the stately Denton County Courthouse, as well as one of the largest sports facilities in the nation, the Texas Motor Speedway; and

24

WHEREAS, Residents and visitors alike enjoy the area's many

1

H.R. No. 22

annual celebrations, including the Denton Arts & Jazz Festival; the 1 2 North Texas State Fair; the Arts, Antiques & Autos Extravaganza; and the Festival of Lights; other attractions include the 3 4 University of North Texas Planetarium, the Texas Fashion 5 Collection, the Rare Book Room and Texana Collections, the Denton 6 County Historical Museum and Texas Heritage Center, and the Texas Women's Hall of Fame and the Little Chapel-in-the-Woods at Texas 7 8 Woman's University; and

9 WHEREAS, The people of Denton County can take great pride not 10 only in the rich history of their community but also in its 11 promising future, and it is a privilege to recognize their 12 achievements at this time; now, therefore, be it

13 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 14 Legislature hereby recognize February 25, 2003, as Denton County 15 Day at the State Capitol and extend best wishes to the members of 16 the visiting delegation for an enjoyable and memorable stay in 17 Austin.

> Denny Solomons Crownover

2

Craddick Allen Alonzo Bailey Baxter Berman Bohac Bonnen Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Burnam Callegari Campbell Canales Capelo Casteel Castro Chavez Chisum Christian Coleman Cook of Navarro Cook of Colorado Corte Crabb Crownover Davis of Harris Davis of Dallas Dawson Delisi Denny Deshotel Driver Dukes Dunnam Dutton Edwards Eiland Eissler Elkins Ellis Farabee Farrar Flores Flynn Gallego Garza Gattis Geren

Giddings Goodman Goolsby Griggs Grusendorf Guillen Gutierrez Haggerty Hamilton Hamric Hardcastle Harper-Brown Hartnett Heflin Hegar Hiĺderbran Hill Hochberg Hodge Homer Норе Hopson Howard Hughes Hunter Hupp Isett Jones of Lubbock Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Keel Keffer of Dallas Keffer of Eastland King Kolkhorst Krusee Kuempel Laney Laubenberg Lewis Luna Mabry Madden Marchant Martinez Fischer McCall McClendon McReynolds Menendez Mercer

Merritt Miller Moreno of Harris Moreno of El Paso Morrison Mowery Naishtat Nixon Noriega Oliveira Olivo Paxton Pena Phillips Pickett Pitts Puente Quintanilla Rangel Raymond Reyna Riddle Ritter Rodriguez Rose Seaman Smith of Tarrant Smith of Harris Smithee Solis Solomons Stick Swinford Talton Taylor Telford Thompson Truitt Turner Uresti Van Arsdale Villarreal West Wilson Wise Wohlgemuth Wolens Wong Woollev Zedler

H.R. No. 22

H.R. No. 22

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 22 was adopted by the House on February 25, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House