RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, On this day, members of Leadership Southwest are visiting the Capitol in an effort to gain further insight into the workings of state government, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to recognize these esteemed citizens; and

WHEREAS, Sponsored by the DeSoto, Cedar Hill, Duncanville, Lancaster, and Oak Cliff chambers of commerce, Leadership Southwest prepares its participants for community service by providing them with personal leadership skills training and by increasing their knowledge of such vital community issues as economic development, the justice system and law enforcement, health and human services, and transportation; and

WHEREAS, Approximately 40 men and women from both the private and the public sector were chosen to participate in the program this year; they represent a cross section of their communities and were selected for their shared interest in community service and issues affecting communities, their willingness to commit themselves to the program's challenging schedule, and their desire for personal growth; and

WHEREAS, To that end, participants attend day-long sessions, held monthly from September through May, where they receive instruction from prominent community and business leaders on issues affecting communities today; and

WHEREAS, These lessons not only enable participants to become more well informed but also to contribute to a bright and promising

H.R. No. 25

- 1 future for the greater Southwest Dallas County area through their
- 2 participation on local boards and commissions following their
- 3 graduation; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby honor the members of Leadership Southwest and
- 6 extend sincere best wishes to them for a memorable and informative
- 7 visit to Austin; and, be it further
- 8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 9 prepared for Leadership Southwest as an expression of high regard
- 10 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Giddings Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Hodge

H.R. No. 25

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

тт	_	7. T	\sim \sim
н		NΩ	

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 25 was adopted by the House on January 15, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House