RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The University of Texas at Austin claimed collegiate baseball's top prize in 2002 by winning the NCAA national championship; and

WHEREAS, A perennial power in college baseball, the Longhorns claimed their fifth national title, placing them in a tie for second on the list of total College World Series championships; and

WHEREAS, Texas advanced to the championship game by defeating Rice and sweeping two games from highly regarded Stanford; facing South Carolina in the final contest of the season, the Longhorns refused to be denied, hammering out a 12-6 victory over the Gamecocks to complete the 2002 campaign with a record of 57-15; and

WHEREAS, Although each member of the Longhorn baseball squad demonstrated true championship heart, ace relief pitcher Huston Street earned singular distinction by setting a new College World Series record with four saves and was named Most Outstanding Player of the series for his remarkable overall performance; and

WHEREAS, Head coach Augie Garrido, who garnered National Coach of the Year honors, played a vital role in guiding the Longhorns to their national title, and he was ably supported in all his efforts by assistant coaches Frank Anderson and Tommy Harmon; and

WHEREAS, A source of great pride to The University of Texas and its fans, these exemplary young men and their coaches have contributed another stirring chapter to the storied history of

H.R. No. 33

- 1 Longhorn baseball; now, therefore, be it
- 2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 3 Legislature hereby congratulate the team members and coaching staff
- 4 of The University of Texas 2002 baseball team on winning the
- 5 school's fifth national championship in that sport; and, be it
- 6 further
- 7 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 8 prepared for The University of Texas 2002 baseball team as an
- 9 expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Van Arsdale

H.R. No. 33

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel HillPuente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

тт	Ъ	NT o	2.2
Н	R	No.	~ ~ ~

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 33 was adopted by the House on March 6, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House