H.R. No. 43

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to
- 2 welcome students, faculty, and staff from San Antonio's St. Mary's
- 3 University to Austin on January 22, 2003, to celebrate St. Mary's
- 4 University Day at the State Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Founded in 1852 by Marianist brothers and priests,
- 6 St. Mary's University is the oldest university in San Antonio, and
- 7 the oldest and largest Catholic university in all of the
- 8 southwestern United States; and
- 9 WHEREAS, For more than 150 years, St. Mary's University has
- 10 been a transformational leader, making a difference in enhancing
- 11 the quality and accessibility of higher education; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The school, recognized as a Hispanic Serving
- 13 Institution, is consistently ranked as one of the best universities
- 14 in the region by U.S. News & World Report, Hispanic Magazine,
- 15 Kaplan/Newsweek College Guide, and the Templeton Foundation; and
- 16 WHEREAS, The university is committed to building on its past
- 17 achievements, preserving the institution as a community of faith,
- 18 and fostering the Marianist traditions that established this
- 19 institution in the spirit of academic excellence; and
- WHEREAS, The staff and students of St. Mary's University are
- 21 dedicated to the Marianist tradition of community service, and
- 22 student volunteerism and social compassion are encouraged through
- 23 the school's Service Learning Center; and
- 24 WHEREAS, With nationally accredited academic programs, an

H.R. No. 43

unparalleled commitment to community service, and a fundamental relationship with South Texas, St. Mary's University creates community leaders and opportunities every day, nurturing generations of new leaders who will give from their lives and talents a high measure of civic engagement, community support, and

public service; now, therefore, be it

6

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas

Legislature hereby recognize January 22, 2003, as St. Mary's

University Day at the State Capitol and commend this esteemed

institution for offering a community-oriented and caring learning

environment for the education and training of future leaders.

Mercer Puente

H.R. No. 43

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal West Farabee Madden Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Wong Garza Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

тт	Γ	TAT	11
Н	ĸ	NΩ	4 3

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 43 was adopted by the House on January 22, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House