H.R. No. 57

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Teach for America is composed of an elite national 2 corps of teachers dedicated to eliminating educational inequity, 3 and the Texas corps is a sterling model of success in this admirable 4 endeavor; and

5 WHEREAS, Teach for America corps members are selected from a 6 pool of the nation's most sought-after college graduates and commit 7 two years to serving in under-resourced public schools; despite the 8 rigorous challenges they encounter, 60 percent of the program's 9 alumni continue working full-time in education, and more than 70 10 percent of those who work outside of education have jobs that are in 11 some way related to schools or low-income areas; and

WHEREAS, Since 1991, Teach for America has brought more than 13 1,150 highly qualified instructors to Texas schools, making a 14 positive impact on approximately 98,000 students; this year alone, 15 more than 300 corps members are working to provide a positive 16 educational experience for some 27,000 students; and

WHEREAS, Participating school districts are Roma ISD, Rio
Grande City ISD, La Jolla ISD, McAllen ISD, Pharr San Juan Alamo
ISD, Donna ISD, Weslaco ISD, Mercedes ISD, San Benito Consolidated
ISD, Edcouch-Elsa ISD, and Houston ISD; and

21 WHEREAS, The myriad benefits that Teach for America-Texas has 22 provided to children in Houston and the Rio Grande Valley are both 23 immediate and long-term, and this esteemed organization deserves 24 commendation for its enduring good work; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 57

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas 2 Legislature hereby recognize Teach for America-Texas and commend 3 the efforts of all those involved in this valuable program; and, be 4 it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Teach for America-Texas as an expression of high 7 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

> Coleman Pena

H.R. No. 57

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 57 was adopted by the House on March 18, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House