H.R. No. 58

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The ability to respond to a crisis situation where
- 2 lives are at stake in a decisive and rational manner is the very
- 3 nature of heroism, and several staff members and students at
- 4 Scurry-Rosser High School displayed that rare quality during an
- 5 incident at their school; and
- 6 WHEREAS, On the morning of November 15, 2002, a former
- 7 student, armed with a shotgun and carrying a can of gasoline and a
- 8 lighter, entered the school and began threatening students and
- 9 faculty; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Principal Richard Sneed encountered the 300-pound
- 11 intruder and engaged him in conversation, then, placing himself
- directly in harm's way, grabbed the shotgun and shoved the barrel up
- in the air; and
- 14 WHEREAS, He was quickly joined in his efforts to disarm and
- 15 subdue the man by dean of students Dan Taylor, athletic director
- 16 Virgil Crow, assistant coach Hank Hollywood, and students Cody
- 17 Smith and Matt Cooper, and through their combined efforts they
- 18 secured the weapon and held the gunman until the authorities
- 19 arrived to take him into custody; and
- WHEREAS, Because of the prompt intervention of these brave
- 21 individuals, a potentially deadly scenario was foiled and order
- 22 quickly restored, and their actions have earned them the enduring
- 23 admiration and appreciation of a grateful community; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 58

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby commend Richard Sneed, Dan Taylor, Virgil Crow,
- 3 Hank Hollywood, Cody Smith, and Matt Cooper, for their courage and
- 4 quick thinking prevented an almost certain tragedy from taking
- 5 place at Scurry-Rosser High School; and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for these remarkable gentlemen as an expression of high
- 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Brown of Kaufman

H.R. No. 58

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

TT	Γ	7\ T	-c
н	R	No.	\neg \times

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 58 was adopted by the House on March 17, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House