H.R. No. 66

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to
- 2 honor Texas Southern University and to recognize January 28, 2003,
- 3 as Texas Southern University Day at the Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Established by the Texas Legislature on March 3,
- 5 1947, Texas Southern University offers degrees in a wide variety of
- 6 programs, including pharmacy, dentistry, arts and sciences,
- 7 journalism, law, and other fields of specialization; and
- 8 WHEREAS, The students at Texas Southern University come from
- 9 diverse socioeconomic, cultural, and racial backgrounds from
- 10 throughout the state and nation; more than 50 nations are
- 11 represented in the student body; and
- 12 WHEREAS, The school is proud to have conferred degrees on
- 13 many individuals who have gone on to become outstanding public
- 14 servants; three Texas Southern University graduates have been
- 15 elected to the United States Congress--the Honorable Barbara
- 16 Jordan, the Honorable George "Mickey" Leland, and the Honorable
- 17 Craig Washington; and
- WHEREAS, Texas Southern University has earned a reputation
- 19 for drawing the largest concentration of multiethnic scholars in
- 20 the world to teach and carry out research on campus; these
- 21 individuals have provided Texas and the nation with a wealth of
- 22 expertise on important world issues; and
- WHEREAS, The members of the board of trustees, the faculty,
- 24 and the administration of Texas Southern University are committed

H.R. No. 66

- 1 to providing students with a first-rate education, and their
- 2 success is evident in the excellent reputation the university
- 3 enjoys today; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby express appreciation to Texas Southern
- 6 University for its many contributions to our state and extend best
- 7 wishes to all who are participating in Texas Southern University
- 8 Day at the Capitol; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the university as an expression of esteem from the
- 11 Texas House of Representatives.

Coleman

H.R. No. 66

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Bohac Naishtat Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Hodge Chavez Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

тт	_	7. T	\sim
Н	$\boldsymbol{\mathcal{L}}$	No.	6 h

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 66 was adopted by the House on January 28, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House