H.R. No. 69

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Splendora High School LadyCats captured the 2002
- 2 UIL 3A State Softball Championship with a hard-fought victory over
- 3 the Lindale High School Lady Eagles on June 1 at Austin's McCombs
- 4 Field; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Under the tutelage of head coach Val Weldon, the
- 6 LadyCats came to epitomize teamwork, dedication, and
- 7 sportsmanship, finishing their season with a 30-4 record and
- 8 possession of the coveted state championship trophy; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Although their victory was a true team effort, the
- 10 LadyCats received a stellar performance from tournament MVP Melissa
- 11 Collins, who struck out 41 batters in the team's final two games;
- 12 and
- 13 WHEREAS, To reach the championship game, the LadyCats
- 14 defeated Decatur in the state semifinals with a 1-0 12-inning
- 15 victory; Ms. Collins set a state record in that game with a
- 16 phenomenal 27 strikeouts; and
- 17 WHEREAS, The Splendora LadyCats softball team has achieved
- 18 the pinnacle of success, and with this exciting accomplishment
- 19 these outstanding student-athletes have ensured their team a
- 20 lasting place of honor in the annals of their school; now,
- 21 therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Coach Val Weldon and the Splendora
- 24 High School LadyCats softball team on winning the 2002 UIL 3A State

H.R. No. 69

- 1 Softball Championship; and, be it further
- 2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 3 prepared for the members of the team and for prominent display at
- 4 Splendora High School as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Ellis Hope

## H.R. No. 69

Craddick Giddings Merritt Allen Miller Goodman Moreno of Harris Goolsby Alonzo Bailey Moreno of El Paso Griggs Baxter Grusendorf Morrison Berman Guillen Mowery Gutierrez Naishtat Bohac Bonnen Haggerty Nixon Noriega Hamilton Branch Brown of Kaufman Brown of Brazos Hamric Oliveira Hardcastle Olivo Burnam Harper-Brown Paxton Callegari Hartnett Pena Campbell Heflin Phillips Canales Hegar Pickett Hiĺderbran Pitts Capelo Casteel Hill Puente Castro Hochberg Quintanilla Chavez Hodge Rangel Chisum Homer Raymond Christian Норе Reyna Coleman Riddle Hopson Cook of Navarro Howard Ritter Cook of Colorado Hughes Rodriguez Corte Hunter Rose Crabb Seaman Hupp Crownover Isett Smith of Tarrant Jones of Lubbock Davis of Harris Smith of Harris Jones of Bexar Jones of Dallas Davis of Dallas Smithee Dawson Solis Delisi Keel Solomons Keffer of Dallas Stick Denny Deshotel Keffer of Eastland Swinford King Driver Talton Dukes Kolkhorst Taylor Telford Dunnam Krusee Dutton Kuempel Thompson Edwards Laney Truitt Laubenberg Eiland Turner Eissler Lewis Uresti Van Arsdale Elkins Luna Ellis Mabry Villarreal Farabee Madden West Wilson Farrar Marchant Martinez Fischer Flores Wise Flynn McCall Wohlgemuth Gallego McClendon Wolens McReynolds Garza Wong Gattis Woolley Menendez Geren Mercer Zedler

TT	D	NT $\sim$	60
$\overline{}$	ĸ	NO	ny

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 69 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House