H.R. No. 87

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Arlington Police Department recently earned 2 reaccreditation from the Commission on Accreditation for Law 3 Enforcement Agencies, Inc. (CALEA); and

WHEREAS, An independent, nonprofit organization, CALEA was founded by four law enforcement membership entities: the

International Association of Chiefs of Police, the National

7 Organization of Black Law Enforcement Executives, the National

8 Sheriffs' Association, and the Police Executive Research Forum;

CALEA is composed of police chiefs, sheriffs, elected officials,

and community leaders appointed by the four founding organizations;

11 and

6

9

10

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

before the commission; and

WHEREAS, To earn accreditation, agencies must enter the program voluntarily and then meet or exceed all of CALEA's standards of excellence, which address areas of administration, operation, and technical support; the three-year award is presented only after an agency passes a rigorous evaluation performed by CALEA's trained team of assessors and a postassessment hearing

WHEREAS, Accredited with CALEA since 1989, the Arlington Police Department is part of an elite group of law enforcement agencies in the United States, Canada, and Barbados that have received this prestigious international recognition, and it is appropriate to commend all the members of the department for their commitment to professional excellence; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 87

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Arlington Police Department on
- 3 receiving reaccreditation from the Commission on Accreditation for
- 4 Law Enforcement Agencies, Inc.; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the Arlington Police Department as an expression of
- 7 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Goodman

H.R. No. 87

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 87 was adopted by the House on January 29, 2003, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House