H.R. No. 96

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Lone Star State lost one of its beloved police 2 officers when Houston County Sheriff's Deputy Bobby Franks was 3 killed in the line of duty on December 23, 2002; and

WHEREAS, A man of tremendous integrity whose strong sense of duty reflected a deep commitment to the welfare of others, Officer Franks exemplified the highest standards of his profession throughout his career in law enforcement; and

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

WHEREAS, Officer Franks served for three years with the Crockett Police Department before embarking on a 15-year tenure with the Houston County Sheriff's Department; a consummate peace officer, he earned the respect and admiration of his colleagues throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, In recognition of his distinguished service, fellow deputies honored Officer Franks by naming him the 2001 Deputy of the Year; then, in February 2002, he was named Employee of the Month; and

WHEREAS, Officer Franks dedicated himself to protecting his fellow citizens and in doing so made a lasting impression on his community; although his death is widely mourned, his memory and influence will long endure in the lives he deeply touched; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 78th Texas Legislature hereby honor the memory of Deputy Bobby Franks and extend sincere sympathy to the members of his family: to his wife,

H.R. No. 96

- 1 Evelyn Stowe Franks; to his daughter, Cynthia Yahr, and her
- 2 husband, Dewit; to his sons, Jason Stowe and Rusty Smith; to his
- 3 stepsons, Steven Johnson, Richard Dale Johnson, and Calvin Johnson;
- 4 to his grandchildren; and to his other relatives and many friends;
- 5 and, be it further
- 6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 7 prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas House
- 8 of Representatives adjourns this day it do so in memory of Bobby
- 9 Franks.

Hopson

H.R. No. 96

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 96 was unanimously adopted by a rising vote of the House on March 10, 2003.

Chief Clerk of the House